November 2015    Print this article

Highlights of Government News in the Mine Development Sector

Gladys Chamberland
Ministère de l’Énergie et des Ressources naturelles

On this page, we present a summary of recent news directly or indirectly related to Government action in the mine development sector, which we feel will interest readers of the Québec Mines Bulletin.

Adoption of the Act respecting transparency measures in the mining, oil and gas industries – Legislation that reflects the values of the people of Québec

The National Assembly adopted the Act respecting transparency measures in the mining, oil and gas industries on October 21, 2015. Luc Blanchette, the Minister for Mines, was both pleased and proud of the fact that the Act reflects the values of the people of Québec in this respect

See the press release
(French only)

Economic growth of gross domestic product: The mining regions stand out in 2014

On September 17 last, the Institut de la statistique du Québec published a press release showing the contribution made by the mining regions to the growth of Québec’s gross domestic product in 2014. “The mining regions continue to benefit from the mining sector’s dynamism, and reported the highest growth rates in Québec in 2014: Nord-du-Québec (+ 9.5%), Côte-Nord (+ 7.1%) and l'Abitibi-Témiscamingue (+ 6.2%). This is revealed by data on regional GDP as updated by the Institut de la statistique du Québec and posted on its website.”

See the press release
(French only)

Granting of the environmental authorization certificate – An important step forward for Nemaska Lithium’s Whabouchi project

On September 4, 2015, Luc Blanchette, Québec’s Minister for Mines and Minister responsible for the Abitibi-Témiscamingue and Nord-du-Québec Regions, and Pierre Arcand, Minister of Energy and Natural Resources, Minister responsible for the Plan Nord and Minister responsible for the Côte-Nord Region, announced that the Ministère du Développement durable, de l’Environnement et de la Lutte contre les changements climatiques had issued an environmental authorization certificate to Nemaska Lithium for its Whabouchi project. The announcement was made in the presence of Guy Bourassa, President and CEO of Nemaska Lithium, Matthew Coon Come, Grand Chief of the Grand Council of the Crees – Cree Nation Government, and Gregory Jolly, Deputy Chief of the Cree Nation of Nemaska.

See the press release
(French only)

The 2014 annual report on mining activity is now online

In Québec, the mining and metal/mineral processing sectors, which account for 3% of the gross domestic product, are a source of collective wealth and an important motor for economic development. Among other things, they are responsible for 25% of our annual exports, as well as for 45,000 direct jobs and tens of thousands of indirect jobs in every region of Québec. While these figures are eloquent, they do not paint a full picture of Québec’s mining sector. You can learn more by reading the 2014 annual report on mining activity (RMA), which gives a complete overview of the sector.

See the 2014 edition of the RMA

Guide for the preparation of a scoping and market study for processing in Québec

A scoping and market study for processing in Québec is required for all projects for which a mining lease must be obtained or renewed, and for mining concessions. The Ministère de l’Énergie et des Ressources naturelles has published a guide to the preparation of the study, which may be obtained from its website.

See the guide

Choosing Québec’s mining sector

The Ministère de l’Énergie et des Ressources naturelles has also updated the English version of its international promotional document (also available in French and Mandarin). As noted by Minister Luc Blanchette in his introduction, the document presents a review of the mining sector’s status and current exploration and mining conditions in Québec. It also describes Québec’s mining potential and the many benefits available to investors.

See Choosing Québec’s Mining Sector

 

Send this page
Previous issues | Questions and comments


© Gouvernement du Québec, 2013

Novembre 2015    Imprimer cet article

Les faits saillants de l’actualité gouvernementale en matière de développement minier

Gladys Chamberland
Ministère de l’Énergie et des Ressources naturelles

Dans cette page, nous vous présentons un recueil des nouvelles des dernières semaines liées de près ou de loin à l’action gouvernementale en matière de développement minier et qui nous semblent d’intérêt pour vous, lecteurs du bulletin Québec Mines

Adoption de la Loi sur les mesures de transparence dans les industries minière, pétrolière et gazière – Une loi qui reflète les valeurs des Québécois

Le 21 octobre 2015, l'Assemblée nationale a adopté la Loi sur les mesures de transparence dans les industries minière, pétrolière et gazière. Le ministre délégué aux Mines, M. Luc Blanchette, s’en est réjoui, se disant fier que la Loi reflète les valeurs des Québécois en matière de transparence.

Voir le communiqué

Croissance économique du produit intérieur brut : les régions minières se démarquent en 2014

L’Institut de la statistique du Québec a publié, le 17 septembre dernier, un communiqué faisant état de l’apport des régions minières à la croissance économique du produit intérieur brut du Québec en 2014. « Les régions minières continuent de profiter du dynamisme du secteur minier et enregistrent les taux de croissance les plus élevés du Québec en 2014 : le Nord-du-Québec (+ 9,5 %), la Côte-Nord (+ 7,1 %) et l'Abitibi-Témiscamingue (+ 6,2 %). C'est ce qui ressort des données sur le PIB régional mises à jour par l'Institut de la statistique du Québec et diffusées sur son site Web. »

Lire le communiqué

Obtention du certificat d'autorisation environnemental - Le projet Whabouchi de Nemaska Lithium franchit une étape importante

Le 4 septembre 2015, M. Luc Blanchette, ministre délégué aux Mines et ministre responsable des régions de l’Abitibi-Témiscamingue et du Nord-du-Québec, et M. Pierre Arcand, ministre de l’Énergie et des Ressources naturelles, ministre responsable du Plan Nord et ministre responsable de la région de la Côte-Nord, ont annoncé la délivrance par le ministère du Développement durable, de l’Environnement et de la Lutte contre les changements climatiques du certificat d’autorisation environnemental (CA) à Nemaska Lithium pour son projet Whabouchi. L’annonce s’est notamment déroulée en présence de M. Guy Bourassa, président et chef de la direction de Nemaska Lithium, de M. Matthew Coon Come, Grand Chef du Grand Conseil des Cris – Gouvernement de la nation crie et de M. Gregory Jolly, vice-chef de la Nation Crie de Nemaska.

Voir le communiqué

Le rapport annuel sur les activités minières 2014 est accessible en ligne

Au Québec, les secteurs de l’extraction minière et de la transformation de métaux et de minéraux, qui représentent 3 % du produit intérieur brut, sont une source d’enrichissement collectif et un important moteur de développement économique. Nous leur devons, entre autres, 25 % de nos exportations annuelles ainsi que 45 000 emplois directs et plusieurs dizaines de milliers d’emplois indirects, répartis dans toutes les régions du Québec. Aussi éloquents soient-ils, ces chiffres ne disent pas tout sur le secteur minier au Québec, mais vous en apprendrez plus en parcourant le rapport annuel sur les activités minières 2014 (RAM) qui présente un survol complet du secteur minier.

Consulter le RAM 2014

Guide de rédaction d’une étude d’opportunité économique et de marché pour la transformation au Québec

La rédaction d’une étude d’opportunité et de marché pour la transformation au Québec s’applique à tous les projets qui doivent obtenir ou renouveler un bail minier ainsi qu’aux concessions minières. Pour guider les promoteurs concernés, le ministère de l’Énergie et des Ressources naturelles a publié sur son site Web un guide pour la rédaction de cette étude

Voir le guide

Choisir le secteur minier du Québec

Le ministère de l’Énergie et des Ressources naturelles a également mis à jour son document promotionnel international en français (disponible en anglais et en mandarin également). Comme l’indique le ministre Luc Blanchette dans son mot d’introduction du document, celui-ci dresse un état de la situation du secteur minier et des conditions d’exploration et d’exploitation qui ont cours au Québec. Il permet de constater le potentiel minier et les nombreux avantages qu’offre le Québec aux investisseurs.

Voir Choisir le secteur minier du Québec

Envoyer cet article
Numéros précédents | Questions et commentaires


© Gouvernement du Québec, 2013