June 2015    Print this article

Québec Mines 2015: It’s Nickel!

Gladys Chamberland
Ministère de l’Énergie et des Ressources naturelles

The Québec Mines team is proud to present the preliminary program for its annual Congress, which will take place on November 23 to 26, on the theme of “Mines from Every Angle”. The event, richer and more diverse than ever before, touches on every aspect of mining development in Québec. Below is an overview of some of the activities.

More than 100 conferences, training sessions and workshops

As in previous years, the Québec Mines program is divided into three main themes – a format greatly appreciated by past participants.

« Special nickel » program

Nicolas ArndtIn the Exploration section of the Congress, internationally renowned specialists will study nickel from every angle.

On the Monday of the Congress,Nicholas Arndt, from the Université Joseph Fourier in Grenoble, will give a short course on mafic-ultramafic magmatic systems and their Ni-Cu-PGE mineralizations.

On the Thursday, Mr. Arndt will also take part in the one-day “Special Nickel” super session, along with other experts from the field, including Sarah-Jane Barnes from the UQAC, Michael Lesher from Laurentian University, and many more.

If you're interested in nickel ...

Economy, environment and society

The Association des économistes québécois will once again be presenting a session on the economy and the mining sector. In another session, new options for mining project financing will be examined in detail. In addition, social acceptability, which has become a modern catchword, will be considered from different angles and standpoints, including the standpoint of Northern development.

Mining operations

Various conference sessions under this theme heading will address issues ranging from engineering challenges to innovation in mine restoration, energy use and rock mechanics in land control.

Geologie and exploration

This year, some well-known experts will turn the spotlight on nickel (see the box). However, nickel will not be the only subject on the program. There will also be sessions on topics such as industrial minerals and Québec’s place in this particular mining development sector, mineral deposits in sedimentary environments, and geological innovations in Québec.

Training sessions

A number of training activities will take place on the Monday of the Congress. They will include the session on “Mafic-Ultramafic Magmatic Systems and their Ni-Cu-PGE Mineralizations” given by Nicholas Arndt (attention: the number of places is limited). For participants looking for an introduction to mining development, a generic session entitled “You Said … Mines?” will also be available. In addition, CONSOREM is currently preparing a training session of its own, and Face-to-Face Marketing will once again be presenting its “Triple Your Exhibition Results” session for Congress exhibitors.

A Large-Scale Exhibition: Truly the Crossroads of Mining Development

Nicolas ArndtThe Québec Mines 2015 Exhibition Hall will bring together exhibitors from all horizons, representing every sector of mining development: exploration, mining, research and development, environment, finance, government, and so on. Many companies have already confirmed their presence. Networking and social activities will take place daily in the Exhibition Hall, at the heart of the action.

Be at the heart of the action – Reserve your stand today!

I applied the animation and networking techniques taught by Julien Roy at Québec Mines 2014, and the results were immediately obvious. The training really made a huge difference!”

Pierjean Savard, Conteneurs experts

If you haven’t yet reserved your stand, it’s not too late. Visit the Exhibition page of the Québec Mines website for details, and take advantage of this exceptional showcase to display your products and services.  You’ll be ideally placed to take part in the daily networking activities! Québec Mines 2015 exhibitors can also attend a free training session on the art of stand presentation, offered by Face-to-Face Marketing. Those who took the training last year were very pleased!

Daily Social and Networking Activities

The Québec Mines program includes many social activities, so that participants have plenty of opportunities to meet and talk. Every day, there will be at least one activity in the Exhibition Hall, including the Geococktail, a book launch, and so on. In addition, the Canadian Institute of Mining, Metallurgy and Petroleum and the Québec Mining Association will host a Gala Evening on the Wednesday of the Congress.

Once again this year, theme-based business and networking activities will be organized by Groupe Misa and 48 Nord International, among others. The themes have yet to be decided, but last year’s highly successful formula is likely to remain the same. Activities will also be organized for mining community actors from Québec and abroad as part of the International component of the Congress.

New elements will be added to the Program in the coming weeks – visit the Québec Mines website regularly for details. We have several surprises in store for you! If you’d like a front-row seat, follow us on the Internet, or on Facebook, Twitter or Linkedin.

You can now register online.

 

Send this page
Previous issues | Questions and comments


© Gouvernement du Québec, 2013

Juin 2015    Imprimer cet article

Québec Mines 2015 : c'est « nickel »!

Gladys Chamberland
Ministère de l’Énergie et des Ressources naturelles

L’équipe de Québec Mines est fière de vous présenter le programme préliminaire de son congrès annuel, qui se tiendra du 23 au 26 novembre sur le thème « les mines sous tous les angles ». Plus riche et plus diversifié que jamais, il touche tous les aspects du développement minier au Québec. En voici un aperçu.

Plus de 100 conférences, formations et ateliers

Fort de la satisfaction des participants des dernières années, Québec Mines récidive avec son programme divisé selon trois grandes thématiques.

Programme
« Spécial nickel »

Nicolas ArndtDu côté de l’exploration, le nickel sera étudié par des spécialistes de renommée internationale.

Le lundi, Nicholas Arndt, de l’Université Joseph Fourier de Grenoble, donnera une formation d’une journée sur les systèmes magmatiques mafiques-ultramafiques et leurs minéralisations en Ni-Cu-ÉGP.

Le jeudi, il participera à la « super » séance « Spécial nickel » d’une journée avec d’autres experts dans le domaine tels que Sarah-Jane Barnes de l’UQAC, Prof. Michael Lesher de l’Université Laurentienne et plus encore.

Si le nickel vous intéresse...

Économie, environnement
et société

L’Association des économistes québécois présentera de nouveau une séance sur l’économie et le secteur minier. Les nouvelles options de financement des projets miniers seront scrutées de près dans une autre séance. L’acceptabilité sociale, un sujet d’actualité, sera examinée sous différents angles et selon différents points de vue, dont celui du développement en milieu nordique.

Exploitation minière

En ce qui a trait à l’exploitation minière, les différentes séances de conférences traiteront autant des défis d’ingénierie que de l’innovation dans le domaine de la restauration minière, de l’utilisation de l’énergie et de la mécanique des roches en matière de contrôle de terrain.

Géologie et exploration

Cette année, le nickel sera mis en vedette par des experts réputés (voir l’encadré)! Cela ne signifie pas qu’il n’y a pas d’autres sujets d’intérêt au programme. Ainsi il y aura une séance sur les minéraux industriels et la place du Québec dans cette filière de développement minier, une autre sur les gîtes minéraux dans les environnements sédimentaires et enfin une sur les nouveautés en matière de géologie au Québec.

Formations

Le lundi, plusieurs activités de formation sont prévues. Bien sûr, il y aura la formation « Les systèmes magmatiques mafiques-ultramafiques et leurs minéralisations en Ni-Cu-ÉGP » donnée par Nicholas Arndt (attention, le nombre de places est limité). Il y aura également, pour tous ceux qui veulent s’initier au développement minier, la formation générique « Vous avez dit… mines? ». Le CONSOREM est en train de préparer une formation de son cru et, pour les exposants, c’est le retour de la formation « Triplez les résultats de vos expositions » de Face-à-Face marketing.

Une exposition d’envergure, véritable carrefour du développement minier

Nicolas ArndtLa salle d’exposition de Québec Mines 2015 regroupera des exposants de tous les horizons, représentant tous les secteurs d’activité liés au développement minier : exploration, exploitation, recherche et développement, environnement, finances, gouvernement, etc. Déjà, plusieurs entreprises ont confirmé leur présence. Des activités de maillage et de réseautage auront lieu quotidiennement dans la salle d’exposition, située au cœur de l’action.

Soyez au cœur de l'Action, réservez votre kiosque dès aujourd'hui!

« J’ai appliqué les techniques d’animation et de réseautage que nous a enseignées Julien Roy à Québec Mines 2014 et j’ai tout de suite vu les résultats. La formation a vraiment fait une grande différence! »

Pierjean Savard, Conteneurs experts

Vous n’avez pas encore réservé votre emplacement? Il n’est pas trop tard. Visitez la page Exposition du site Web de Québec Mines. Profitez de cette vitrine exceptionnellepour afficher vos produits et services. Participez aux activités de réseautage qui auront lieu quotidiennement! En prime, les exposants à Québec Mines 2015 pourront participer gratuitement à une formation sur l’art d’animer un kiosque offerte par Face-à-Face marketing. Ceux qui l’ont suivie l’an dernier en ont été très satisfaits!

Des activités de réseautage quotidiennes

Le programme de Québec Mines accorde une grande place aux activités de réseautage pour offrir aux participants des occasions de se rencontrer et de discuter. Il y aura chaque jour une ou des activités dans la salle d’exposition : Géococktail, lancement de livre, etc. De plus, l’Institut canadien des mines, de la métallurgie et du pétrole et l’Association minière du Québec seront les hôtes de la soirée de gala du mercredi soir.

Des activités thématiques d’affaires seront de nouveau organisées par Groupe Misa et 48e Nord international, notamment. Le ou les thèmes restent à préciser, mais les formules de l’an dernier devraient être revisitées étant donné leur succès. De même, dans le cadre du volet international, différentes activités sont prévues avec des acteurs du monde minier, d’ici et d’ailleurs.

Visitez le site Web de Québec Mines régulièrement pour suivre de près l’évolution du programme qui continuera de se préciser au fil du temps. Nous avons quelques surprises en réserve pour vous! Suivez-nous sur Internet, Facebook, Twitter et LinkedIn pour être aux premières loges.

Vous pouvez déjà vous inscrire en ligne.

Envoyer cet article
Numéros précédents | Questions et commentaires


© Gouvernement du Québec, 2013