November 2011    Print this article

New analytical results of lake sediments following four acid digestion in the Churchill Province: implications for mineral exploration

Charles Maurice,
Ministère des Ressources naturelles et de la Faune (MRNF)

Background

Québec’s Ministère des Ressources naturelles et de la Faune (MRNF) announces the publication of new geochemical data from the re-analysis of archived lake sediments using four-acid near-total digestion. The project was launched following renewed interest in exploration for rare earths (lanthanides) and other rare metals (Zr-Y-Nb-Be) associated with peralkaline granitic rocks in the Churchill geological Province (Figure 1). The region covered by the Rivière George survey1 includes at least three rare earth and rare metal mineral deposits, namely Strange Lake-Lac Brisson, Lac Misery and Ytterby 2 (Salvi and Williams-Jones, 2006; Petrella, 2011).

The objective of the current project is to compare the analytical results obtained following partial digestion in aqua regia with the results obtained using near-total digestion in four types of acid.

Click on image to enlarge

Figure 1 : Location of the Rivière George survey and rare earths and rare metals mineralizations in the Churchill geological Province.

The comparison will help identify and distinguish environmental chemical signatures from the chemical signatures of the basement rock. Since some of the minerals containing rare earth and rare metal mineralizations are refractory (such as zircon, pyrochlore, monazite, and xenotime), their signature in lake sediments could be enhanced.

Analytical method

The lake sediment samples from the Rivière George survey were re-analyzed using the ICP-MS method (Maurice and Labbé, 2009) following partial digestion in aqua regia,2 the digestion generally used for lake sediments in Québec. The new data, made available from today,3 were obtained using the same ICP-MS method, at the same laboratory (ACMELabs, Vancouver), but the samples were prepared by near-total digestion at high temperature in four types of acid (nitric, perchloric, fluorhydric and chlorhydric). The results are close to total contents for several of the elements analyzed, except when the samples contain highly resistant phases such as barite (Ba), cassiterite (Sn), chromite (Cr), monazite (La, Ce, Nd), titanite (Ti), xenotime (Y) and zircon (Zr). Of the original 1902 samples from the Rivière George survey, 1865 were analyzed using both digestion methods. The new results present analytical data for all the rare earth elements, while the 2009 data contained only the results for La, Ce and Y.

The digestion of the samples in the four types of acid may lead to volatilization of the elements arsenic, antimony and gold during fuming, giving lower concentration readings than the actual concentrations. For this reason, unless the analysis for these three elements is considered unnecessary, four-acid digestion cannot be used for routine analyses.

Preliminary results

The rank correlation coefficients4 for the 41 elements analyzed with both digestion methods were calculated (Table 1). Almost half of the elements had coefficients over 0.80, demonstrating an excellent match between the two methods. These elements include the transitional elements copper (Cu; 0.98), molybdenum (Mo; 0.99) and zinc (Zn; 0.94), for which near-total digestion appears to have no effect. Similarly, the light rare earth elements lanthanum (La; 0.97) and cerium (Ce; 0.96) have extremely high correlation coefficients (Figure 2a). Yttrium (Y), an element chemically close to the heavy rare earth elements, also has a relatively high correlation coefficient of 0.85. Since the anomalous samples obtained using the two digestion methods are the same, the use of a near-total digestion to explore for several metals and rare earth elements does not appear to be justified.

Alcall-earth metals

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Transition metals

Ba

0.20

Ag

0.93

Be

0.35

Cd

0.88

Ca

0.10

Co

0.86

Mg

0.77

Cr

0.71

Sr

-0.56

Cu

0.98

Lanthanides

Fe

0.85

Ce

0.96

Hf

0.40

La

0.97

Mn

0.75

Post-transition metals

Mo

0.99

Al

0.07

Nb

0.50

Bi

0.81

Ni

0.87

Ga

0.58

Sc

0.47

Pb

0.65

Ti

0.73

Sb

0.72

V

0.71

Sn

0.75

W

0.83

Actinides

y

0.85

Th

0.77

Zn

0.94

U

0.99

Zr

0.41

Alkali metals

Non-Metals

Cs

0.98

As

0.38

K

0.64

P

0.96

Li

0.97

S

0.99

Na

0.36

 

 

Rb

0.83

 

 

Table 1 : Rank correlation coefficients for the elements analyzed using two digestion methods. The chemical series in the periodic table of the elements were used to group the results. The major elements are shown in bold italics.

Almost one quarter of the chemical elements analyzed, however, have correlation coefficients below 0.60, and strontium (Sr) even have a negative correlation of -0.56 (table 1). In these cases, the results using the two digestion methods are significantly different, since the anomalous samples obtained from partial digestion are often different from those obtained using near-total digestion (Figures 2b, 2c and 2d). The use of the analytical results obtained through partial digestion for these elements should, therefore, be used with caution when drawing up exploration models.

Click on image to enlarge

Figure 2 : Diagrams showing concentrations from ICP-MS analyses of the elements cerium (a), niobium (b), aluminum (c) and titanium (d), following partial digestion in aqua regia, and near-total four-acid digestion. The lines in figures (c) and (d) show the digestion rates for aluminum and titanium in common minerals following partial digestion in aqua regia (Snäll and Liljefors, 2000).

Among the elements with the lowest correlation coefficients are the major elements calcium (Ca; 0.10), sodium (Na; 0.36) and aluminum (Al; 0.07). If we assume that the analytical results following four-acid digestion represent the total concentrations, then it is possible to obtain an idea of the mineral phases that influenced the dispersion of data.5 Figure 2c, for example, shows the digestion rates for aluminum in common minerals following digestion in aqua regia (Snäll and Liljefors, 2000). The samples that give similar concentrations for both digestion methods may contain a predominance of easily-dissolved minerals such as biotite and/or chlorite (and possibly clays).

On the other hand, the samples showing higher concentrations following four-acid digestion, but lower concentrations following aqua regia digestion, may contain a higher proportion of feldspar and/or muscovite (Figure 2c). Similarly, Figure 2d shows the concentrations of titanium, an element that has a strong correlation in several samples, but for which systematically higher values are observed following four-acid digestion. This suggests that the titanium content of lake sediments is not due solely to biotite, in which titanium is almost totally dissolved following partial digestion, but rather to an amalgam of other, more resistant mineral phases such as titanite, ilmenite and rutile.

Future work

A study is currently under way to analyze the behaviour of these chemical elements using a spatial statistical approach. The results of this study will not only help to apply partial analyses more effectively for exploration purposes, but also to better understand the links between the bedrock and the concentrations of chemical elements in lake sediments.

Acknowledgement

A discussion with Sylvain Trépanier (CONSOREM) helped define the implications of the results more clearly and direct the treatment of the analyses.

References

PETRELLA, L., 2011. Caractérisation lithologique et pétrographique de l’intrusion syénitique de Misery. Québec: Ministère des Ressources naturelles et de la Faune, GM 65518. 34 pages.

SALVI, S. and A. E.WILLIAMS-JONES, 2006. “Alteration, HFSE mineralisation and hydrocarbon formation in peralkaline igneous systems: Insights from the Strange Lake Pluton, Canada”. Lithos, Volume 91, p. 19-34.

SNÄLL, S. and T. LILJEFORS, 2000. “Leachability of major elements from minerals in strong acids”. Journal of Geochemical Exploration, Volume 71, p. 1-12.

TRÉPANIER, S., 2007. Identification de domaines géochimiques à partir des levés régionaux de sédiments de fond de lacs. Québec: Ministère des Ressources naturelles et de la Faune, GM62922. 95 pages.

TURCOTTE, J., GIRARD, R. and C. MAURICE, 2011. Bonifier les techniques de prospection en précisant la source des métaux dans les sédiments de fond de lac. Québec: Ministère des Ressources naturelles et de la Faune, GM65640. 44 pages.


1 : Project 1982055 in the SIGEOM database.

2 : Aqua regia: a mixture of nitric and hydrochloric acid in the ratio  1:3.

3 : Under the heading "Geochemistry– Sediment sample "

4 : The analytical values for each chemical element were ranked according to their rank in the population as a whole. The lowest value was rank 1, while the highest was the same as the total number of samples. Ranks were used rather than actual values to calculate the correlation coefficients, in order to attenuate the effect of the most widely divergent samples.

5 : Environmental factors, the percentage of organic material, water quality and even micro-organisms can influence the content of certain elements in lake sediments (Trépanier, 2007; Turcotte et autres, 2011). These factors are not considered here.

 

Send this page
Previous issues | Questions and comments


© Gouvernement du Québec, 2011

Novembre 2011    Imprimer cet article

Nouveaux résultats d'analyse de sédiments de lacs suivant une dissolution par quatre acides dans la Province de Churchill : implications pour l'exploration

Charles Maurice,
Ministère des Ressources naturelles et de la Faune (MRNF)

Mise en contexte

Le ministère des Ressources naturelles et de la Faune du Québec annonce la publication de nouvelles données géochimiques de sédiments de lacs provenant de la réanalyse d’échantillons d’archives suivant une dissolution presque totale par quatre acides. Ce projet a été lancé à la suite de l’intérêt accru pour l’exploration des éléments des terres rares (lanthanides) et autres métaux rares (Zr-Y-Nb-Be) associés aux granitoïdes hyperalcalins de la Province géologique de Churchill (figure 1). La région couverte par le levé Rivière George1 compte au moins trois gîtes minéralisés en terres rares et métaux rares, soit ceux de Strange Lake-Lac Brisson, Lac Misery et Ytterby 2 (Salvi et Williams-Jones, 2006; Petrella, 2011).

L’objectif de ce projet est de comparer les résultats analytiques suivant une dissolution partielle à l’eau régale à ceux provenant d’une dissolution presque totale par quatre acides.

Cliquez sur l'image pour un agrandissement

Figure 1 : Localisation du levé Rivière George et des indices de terres rares et métaux rares dans la Province géologique de Churchill.

Cette comparaison contribuera notamment à identifier et distinguer les signatures chimiques environnementales de celles du socle rocheux. Puisque certains des minéraux contenant les minéralisations en terres rares et métaux rares sont réfractaires (p. ex. zircon, pyrochlore, monazite, xénotime), la signature de telles minéralisations dans les sédiments de lacs pourra aussi être éventuellement rehaussée.

Méthodes analytiques

Les échantillons de sédiments de lacs du levé Rivière George avaient été réanalysés par la méthode ICP-MS (Maurice et Labbé, 2009) suivant une dissolution partielle à l’eau régale2, le type de dissolution normalement employé pour les sédiments de lacs au Québec. Les données accessibles dès aujourd’hui3 ont aussi été obtenues par la méthode ICP-MS au même laboratoire (ACMELabs, Vancouver), mais les échantillons ont quant à eux été préparés suivant une dissolution presque totale, à chaud et utilisant quatre acides (nitrique, perchlorique, fluorhydrique et chlorhydrique). Les résultats se rapprochent donc des contenus totaux pour plusieurs des éléments analysés, à l’exception des échantillons pouvant contenir des phases très résistantes telles que la barite (Ba), la cassitérite (Sn), la chromite (Cr), la monazite (La, Ce, Nd), la titanite (Ti), le xénotime (Y) ou le zircon (Zr). Sur les 1902 échantillons que comptait initialement le levé Rivière George, 1865 ont fait l’objet d’analyses par l’intermédiaire des deux méthodes de dissolution. De plus, les nouveaux résultats contiennent les données analytiques pour l’ensemble des éléments des terres rares, alors que les données acquises en 2009 ne contenaient que les éléments La, Ce et Y.

La dissolution des échantillons par quatre acides peut entraîner un dégagement de fumée accompagnant une volatilisation des éléments arsenic, antimoine et or, de telle sorte que des concentrations plus basses que les contenus réels peuvent être obtenues. À moins que l’analyse de ces trois éléments soit jugée superflue, cette particularité fait en sorte qu’une dissolution par quatre acides ne peut pas être utilisée de manière routinière.

Résultats préliminaires

Les coefficients de corrélation de rang4 pour les 41 éléments analysés à l’aide des deux méthodes de dissolution ont été calculés (tableau 1). Près de la moitié des éléments montre des coefficients de plus de 0,80 témoignant d’une excellente correspondance entre les deux méthodes. Parmi ces éléments se trouvent des métaux de transition soit le cuivre (Cu; 0,98), le molybdène (Mo; 0,99) et le zinc (Zn; 0,94) pour lesquels une dissolution presque totale ne semble avoir aucune incidence. De façon similaire, des éléments des terres rares légères soit le lanthane (La; 0,97) et le cérium (Ce; 0,96) montrent des coefficients de corrélation très élevés (figure 2a). L’yttrium (Y), élément chimiquement proche des éléments des terres rares lourdes, possède quant à lui un coefficient de corrélation relativement élevé de 0,85. Puisque les échantillons anomaux obtenus au moyen des deux méthodes de dissolution sont les mêmes, l’utilisation d’une dissolution presque totale pour l’exploration de plusieurs métaux et des éléments des terres rares ne semble pas justifiée.

Métaux alcalino-terreux

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Métaux de transition

Ba

0,20

Ag

0,93

Be

0,35

Cd

0,88

Ca

0,10

Co

0,86

Mg

0,77

Cr

0,71

Sr

-0,56

Cu

0,98

Lanthanides

Fe

0,85

Ce

0,96

Hf

0,40

La

0,97

Mn

0,75

Métaux pauvres

Mo

0,99

Al

0,07

Nb

0,50

Bi

0,81

Ni

0,87

Ga

0,58

Sc

0,47

Pb

0,65

Ti

0,73

Sb

0,72

V

0,71

Sn

0,75

W

0,83

Actinides

y

0,85

Th

0,77

Zn

0,94

U

0,99

Zr

0,41

Métaux alcalins

Non-Métaux

Cs

0,98

As

0,38

K

0,64

P

0,96

Li

0,97

S

0,99

Na

0,36

 

 

Rb

0,83

 

 

Tableau 1 : Cœfficients de corrélation de rang pour les éléments analysés à l'aide des deux méthodes de dissolution. Les séries chimiques du tableau périodique des éléments ont été utilisées pour grouper les résultats. Les éléments majeurs sont ici représentés en gras-italique.

Plus du quart des éléments chimiques analysés montre néanmoins des coefficients de corrélation plus bas que 0,60, le strontium (Sr) ayant même une corrélation négative de -0,56 (tableau 1). Dans ces cas, les résultats des deux méthodes de dissolution ont des significations différentes, car les échantillons anomaux obtenus à l’aide d’une dissolution partielle sont souvent différents de ceux obtenus à l’aide d’une dissolution presque totale (figures 2b, 2c et 2d). L’utilisation des résultats d’analyse provenant d’une dissolution partielle de tels éléments devrait donc être prise avec précaution dans l’élaboration de modèles d’exploration.

Cliquez sur l'image pour un agrandissement
Figure 2 : Diagrammes montrant les concentrations provenant d'analyses ICP-MS des éléments cérium (a), niobium (b), aluminium (c) et titane (d), à la suite des dissolutions partielles à l'eau régale et presque totales par quatre acides. Les lignes tracées sur les figures c) et d) représentent les taux de dissolution de l'aluminium et du titane dans des minéraux communs lors d'une dissolution partielle à l'eau régale (Snäll et Liljefors, 2000).

Parmi les éléments montrant les plus faibles coefficients de corrélation se trouvent plusieurs éléments majeurs soit le calcium (Ca; 0,10), le sodium (Na; 0,36) et l’aluminium (Al; 0,07). En supposant que les résultats d’analyse de la dissolution par quatre acides représentent les concentrations totales, il est possible d’obtenir un aperçu des phases minérales qui ont pu avoir une incidence sur la dispersion des données5. La figure 2c) montre par exemple les taux de dissolution de l’aluminium dans des minéraux communs lors d’une dissolution à l’eau régale (Snäll et Liljefors, 2000). Les échantillons montrant des concentrations similaires pour les deux méthodes de dissolution pourraient être expliqués par une domination de minéraux facilement dissous tels la biotite et/ou la chlorite (et possiblement les argiles).

En contraste, ceux ayant de fortes concentrations à la suite d’une dissolution par quatre acides, mais une faible concentration à la suite d’une dissolution à l’eau régale, pourraient être expliqués par une plus forte proportion de feldspaths et/ou de muscovite dans l’échantillon (figure 2c). De façon similaire, la figure 2d montre les concentrations en titane, élément qui montre une bonne corrélation pour plusieurs échantillons, mais pour lequel des valeurs systématiquement plus élevées sont observées lors d’une dissolution par quatre acides. Cela suggère que le contenu en titane des sédiments des lacs ne provient pas uniquement de la biotite, dans laquelle le titane est dissous presque totalement lors d’une dissolution partielle, mais plutôt d’un amalgame avec d’autres phases minérales plus résistantes telles que la titanite, l’ilménite et le rutile.

Travaux futurs

Une étude est actuellement en cours afin d’analyser le comportement des éléments chimiques dans une approche de statistique spatiale. Les résultats de cette étude contribueront non seulement à mieux utiliser les analyses partielles à des fins d’exploration, mais aussi à mieux comprendre les liens entre le socle rocheux et les concentrations des éléments chimiques dans les sédiments des lacs.

Remerciements

Une discussion avec Sylvain Trépanier (CONSOREM) a contribué à mieux cerner les implications des résultats et à aborder le traitement des analyses.

Références

PETRELLA, L., 2011. Caractérisation lithologique et pétrographique de l’intrusion syénitique de Misery, Ministère des Ressources naturelles et de la Faune, Québec; GM 65518, 34 pages.

SALVI, S. et A. E.WILLIAMS-JONES, 2006. ‛Alteration, HFSE mineralisation and hydrocarbon formation in peralkaline igneous systems: Insights from the Strange Lake Pluton, Canada’. Lithos; Volume 91, pages 19-34.

SNÄLL, S. et T. LILJEFORS, 2000. ‛Leachability of major elements from minerals in strong acids’. Journal of Geochemical Exploration; volume 71, pages 1-12.

TRÉPANIER, S., 2007. Identification de domaines géochimiques à partir des levés régionaux de sédiments de fond de lacs. Ministère des Ressources naturelles et de la Faune, Québec; GM62922, 95 pages.

TURCOTTE, J., GIRARD, R. et C. MAURICE, 2011. Bonifier les techniques de prospection en précisant la source des métaux dans les sédiments de fond de lac. Ministère des Ressources naturelles et de la Faune, Québec; GM65640, 44 pages.


1 : projet 1982055 dans SIGEOM.

2 : ou aqua regia, un mélange d’acides nitrique et chlorhydrique dans un rapport de 1:3.

3 : sous l’onglet « Géochimie – Échantillon de sédiments »

4 : Les valeurs analytiques de chaque élément chimique ont été converties selon le rang qu’elles occupent dans l’ensemble de la population. Ainsi, la valeur la plus faible correspond au rang 1, tandis que la plus forte correspond au rang équivalent au nombre total d’échantillons. Les rangs ont été utilisés plutôt que les valeurs brutes pour le calcul des coefficients de corrélation. Cette manière de procéder a l’avantage d’atténuer l’effet des échantillons fortement divergents par rapport à l’ensemble de la population.

5 : Des facteurs environnementaux, la proportion de matière organique, la nature de l’eau et même des microorganismes peuvent aussi influencer le contenu de certains éléments dans les sédiments des lacs (Trépanier, 2007; Turcotte et autres, 2011). Ces facteurs ne sont pas considérés ici.

Envoyer cet article
Numéros précédents | Questions et commentaires


© Gouvernement du Québec, 2011