November 2011    Print this article

Québec Exploration 2011

Luc Charbonneau and Charlotte Grenier,
Ministère des Ressources naturelles et de la Faune (MRNF)

From knowledge to discovery—using this evocative theme, the ninth annual Québec Exploration convention will survey the current state of geoscientific knowledge in all regions of Québec, a key destination for mineral exploration companies.

A PROGRAM OF SPEAKERS COVERING ALL ASPECTS OF GEO-SCIENTIFIC KNOWLEDGE!

The Québec Exploration 2011 organizing committee is proud to present a roster of high-quality speakers who will address a wide range of topics. The program has been put together to ensure that each session is relevant to a sector of activity experiencing unprecedented growth! Many internationally-renowned speakers will be part of the line-up for the 2011 event.

The program is divided into six separate sessions.

Session 1
New geological knowledge and mineral potential of the Abitibi geological region

After nearly a full century of mining, the Abitibi geological belt remains a fertile region for mineral exploration, particularly in regard to precious and common metals. The region’s mineral potential appears to be equally high for many other metals and substances, including nickel, lithium and vanadium. This session will focus on recently acquired geological knowledge of the region and its metallogenic evolution, as well as on promising discoveries and mining projects.

Session 2
Entrepreneurship and public financing: What entrepreneurs and investors think

Québec’s mineral potential attracts players from around the world, especially due to its highly competitive mining industry environment. Québec possesses all the needed expertise, along with institutions ready to support Québec mining entrepreneurship. Yet despite these advantages, Québec accounted, in 2010, for only 6 of the 149 mining companies listed on the TXS Venture Exchange. Why should this be the case? In this session, mining entrepreneurs that have been successful on the TSX Venture Exchange will share their stories, talk about managing a public corporation and help participants benefit from their experience. A panel of investors will also reveal the qualities they look for in mining entrepreneurs and business plans.

Session 3
Geoscience, exploration and discovery of mineral resources: An inseparable trio

This session will explore the contribution made by the geoscientific work of governments, universities and research groups in the discovery of new mineral deposits. The involvement of governments in the gathering of geoscientific knowledge will be assessed against the background of constantly increasing costs for mineral discoveries. In addition, the use of new conceptual and exploration models developed by university research groups and pre-competitive consortiums will be illustrated by up-to-date, concrete examples of mining industry performance.

Session 4
Iron: From exploration to mining

The price of iron ore has increased considerably over the last decade in response to growing demand. Québec’s first new iron ore mine in 30 years opened in 2009, after a long parade of closures. The year 2010 and the beginning of 2011 saw Chinese and Indian steelmakers taking equity interests in several junior mining companies active in Québec and Labrador. This session will discuss Québec and Labrador iron ore exploration and development projects, and the important role played by China in this newly effervescent market.

Session 5
Critical, strategic and high technology minerals and metals

Industrialized countries are increasingly aware that certain minerals and metals have become key to maintaining and developing hi-tech industries. Supply restrictions, export quotas, price increases, supply/demand mismatches and predicted shortages have increased interest in these substances that are now a part of our daily lives. Prospectors and mine operators are seeking sources of the minerals and metals of the future. This session will attempt to answer the vital questions of What, Where, Why, and for Whom? In sizing up the current situation, the session will discuss some of the key parts of this equation.

Session 6
Earth sciences: at a crossroads in knowledge

Earth Sciences are at the crossroads of geological, chemical, physical and biological knowledge. A multi-disciplinary approach is essential to our understanding of the history and evolution of the Earth. This lecture session will clearly and comprehensibly present examples of major scientific projects that are offering a new way to look at the planet by bringing together knowledge from a variety of disciplines. Fresh interpretation of this information is leading to a better understanding of the environment.

GÉOLOGIE QUÉBEC TAKES GEOSCIENTIFIC KNOWLEDGE TO A NEW LEVEL!

The geologists working for Géologie Québec have spent a busy summer. Dozens of new maps have been prepared and will be exhibited. The new analysis of lake-bottom sediments will be unveiled. Last, details on promising new target areas for mineral exploration will be released.

Priority access to this wealth of new geoscientific data will guide you along the path to new mineral discoveries.

Québec Exploration on Facebook

Québec Exploration has reached Web 2.0 speed. Become a “fan” of Québec Exploration by visiting its Facebook page. Monitor the preparatory work for the convention and interact with the Québec Exploration team.

Québec Exploration 2011 takes the lead!

A challenging program of lectures, workshops of relevant interest for geoscientific stakeholders, interactive sessions presenting essential information about policies and regulations, an “open-door” day on the theme of radioactivity, an enticing list of social activities, and over 2000 participants: these are just a few of the reasons for attending Québec Exploration 2011. A pooling of knowledge to promote new discoveries!

Register now for the event, which will take place at the Château Frontenac hotel from November 21 to 24, 2011. For more information, go to the website: www.QuebecExploration.qc.ca

 

Send this page
Previous issues | Questions and comments


© Gouvernement du Québec, 2011

Novembre 2011    Imprimer cet article

Québec Exploration 2011

Luc Charbonneau et Charlotte Grenier,
Ministère des Ressources naturelles et de la Faune (MRNF)

De la connaissance à la découverte! C’est sur ce thème très évocateur que se déroulera la neuvième édition de Québec Exploration, cet important congrès qui fera le point sur la connaissance géoscientifique de l’ensemble du territoire québécois, un incontournable pour l’exploration minière.

UN PROGRAMME DE CONFÉRENCES AXÉ SUR LA CONNAISSANCE GÉOSCIENTIFIQUE TOUS AZIMUTS!

Le comité organisateur de Québec Exploration 2011 est très fier de présenter un programme de conférences d’une qualité exceptionnelle et d’une grande diversité. Les responsables du programme ont été en mesure de concocter des sessions de conférences d’une grande pertinence pour un secteur d’activité en plein essor! De nombreux conférenciers de renommée internationale feront partie de la cohorte de l’édition 2011.

Voici donc un aperçu de ce programme de conférences divisé en six sessions distinctes.

Session 1
Nouvelles connaissances géologiques et potentiel minéral de la région géologique de l’Abitibi

La ceinture géologique de l’Abitibi demeure, malgré près d’un siècle d’exploitation minière, une région privilégiée pour l’exploration minière, particulièrement pour les métaux précieux et usuels. Son potentiel minéral apparaît également élevé pour plusieurs autres métaux et substances, notamment le nickel, le lithium et le vanadium. Cette session vise à faire le point sur les récentes connaissances géologiques acquises dans cette région, son évolution métallogénique et les récentes découvertes et projets miniers.

Session 2
Entrepreneuriat et financement public : ce qu’en pensent entrepreneurs et investisseurs

Le potentiel minéral du Québec attire des entreprises de partout dans le monde. Le Québec bénéficie d’un régime minier des plus concurrentiels. Nous trouvons au Québec l’expertise requise et des institutions prêtes à soutenir l’entrepreneuriat minier québécois. Malgré tous ces avantages comparatifs, seulement 6 des 149 sociétés minières qui se sont inscrites à la bourse de croissance TSX en 2010 sont québécoises. Pourtant, d’autres entrepreneurs miniers n’ont pas hésité à le faire avec succès. Ils parleront de leur cheminement, de leur gestion d’une entreprise publique et donneront de judicieux conseils. Un panel d’investisseurs se prononcera également sur les qualités recherchées chez l’entrepreneur minier et sur son plan d’affaires.

Session 3
Géoscience, exploration et découverte minérale : un trio indissociable

Cette session soulignera l’importance de la recherche géoscientifique émanant des gouvernements, universités et groupes de recherche sur la découverte de nouveaux gisements minéraux. En outre, le degré de participation des gouvernements à la connaissance géoscientifique sera examiné dans un contexte où les coûts des découvertes minérales augmentent. De plus, l’apport des nouveaux modèles conceptuels ou d’exploration par les groupes de recherche universitaires et précompétitifs sera scruté lors des présentations illustrant des exemples concrets et actuels sur la performance de l’industrie minière.

Session 4
Le fer : de l’exploration à l’exploitation

Au cours de la dernière décennie, le prix du minerai de fer a fortement augmenté et la demande pour cette matière première s’est accrue. En 2009, le Québec a vu l’ouverture de sa première mine de minerai de fer après 30 années marquées par des fermetures. L’année 2010 et le début de 2011 ont été pour leur part marqués par des prises de participation dans plusieurs sociétés minières juniors actives au Québec et au Labrador par des aciéristes chinois et indien. Cette session fera le point sur les projets d’exploration et de mises en valeur du minerai de fer au Québec et au Labrador ainsi que sur le rôle capital que joue la Chine dans cette effervescence.

Session 5
Minéraux et métaux critiques, stratégiques et de haute technologie

Les pays industrialisés prennent de plus en plus conscience que plusieurs minéraux et métaux deviennent des éléments clés dans le maintien et le développement de leur industrie des hautes technologies. Restrictions d’approvisionnement, quotas à l’exportation, explosion des prix, déséquilibre de l’offre et de la demande ou pénuries anticipées viennent alimenter l’intérêt pour ces substances dont l’usage fait maintenant partie de notre quotidien. Des explorateurs et des exploitants miniers sont donc à la recherche de ces minéraux et métaux de demain. Quoi chercher, où chercher, pourquoi, pour qui, quel portrait peut-on dresser de la situation. La session portera sur quelques-uns des éléments de cette problématique.

Session 6
Les sciences de la Terre : à la croisée des connaissances

Les sciences de la Terre sont à la croisée des connaissances en géologie, en chimie, en physique et en biologie. Une approche multidisciplinaire est essentielle pour comprendre l'histoire et l'évolution de notre Terre.  Cette session de conférences présentera, dans un langage accessible à tous, des exemples de grands projets scientifiques qui auscultent la Terre par la mise en commun de connaissances provenant de diverses disciplines et dont les nouvelles interprétations nous permettent de mieux comprendre notre environnement.

GÉOLOGIE QUÉBEC ÉLÈVE LA CONNAISSANCE GÉOSCIENTIFIQUE ENCORE PLUS HAUT!

Les géologues de Géologie Québec ont connu un été très prolifique. Des dizaines de nouvelles cartes seront produites et exposées. Des réanalyses de sédiments de lacs seront également dévoilés. Finalement, de nouvelles cibles pour l’exploration minière seront rendues publiques.

Le dévoilement en primeur de cette multitude de données géoscientifiques inédites vous montrera le chemin vers de nouvelles découvertes.

Québec Exploration sur Facebook

Québec Exploration est à l’ère du Web 2.0. Il est désormais possible de devenir « fan » de Québec Exploration en visitant son site Facebook. Suivez les préparatifs du congrès et interagissez avec l’équipe de Québec Exploration.

Québec Exploration 2011 se démarquera!

Un programme de conférences étonnant, des ateliers très pertinents pour les intervenants géoscientifiques, des sessions interactives incontournables pour tout savoir des politiques et règlements, une « journée porte ouverte » sur le thème de la radioactivité au naturel, des activités sociales qui vous enchanteront, plus de 2000 participants : voilà en quelques mots les raisons pour lesquelles il ne faut pas manquer Québec Exploration 2011. Un enrichissement collectif de connaissances pour multiplier les découvertes!

Inscrivez-vous dès maintenant à cet événement qui aura lieu au Château Frontenac du 21 au 24 novembre prochains. Pour de plus amples renseignements, visitez le site Internet : www.QuebecExploration.qc.ca

Envoyer cet article
Numéros précédents | Questions et commentaires


© Gouvernement du Québec, 2011