Upcoming eents
Prospectors and Developers Association
of Canada
(PDAC Convention 2007)
March 4 - 7, 2007 >>

Dramatic increase in uranium exploration in Québec

By Serge Perreault, M.Sc., P. Geo.
Assistant to the Director General
Géologie Québec directorate

The mining community's interest in uranium has risen dramatically in Québec, after 22 years of relative inactivity. This keen interest in uranium is directly related to its spot market price, which reached a peak of US$72 per pound at the end of January 2007. As a result, exploration expenditures for uranium, which were only in the tens of thousands of dollars in 2000, rose from $1.36 million and $4.3 million in 2004 and 2005, respectively, to $16 million in 2006 (data from Natural Resources Canada and preliminary actual ISQ data for 2006). These expenditures were distributed over roughly 40 projects, mainly located in the Grenville Province (in the Témiscamingue area (Kipawa), in the Outaouais Region (Fort-Coulonge), in the Laurentides Region (Mont-Laurier), in the Côte-Nord Region (Baie-Johan-Beetz – Aguanish), in the sedimentary basin of the Monts Otish (northeast of Chibougamau) and in the eastern portion of Nunavik (in the Core Zone) and the metasedimentary rocks of the Torngat Orogen (Lake Harbour Group).

Two sectors have attracted the attention of the mineral exploration community in 2006 because of the results obtained and the opening of new exploration territories: the Monts Otish basin and the Core Zone area in Nunavik.

The Monts Otish basin, Québec's Athabasca ?

The uranium potential of the Monts Otish Paleoproterozoic sedimentary basin is often compared to the Athabasca Mesoproterozoic sedimentary basin in Saskatchewan (the Athabasca basin accounts for one-third of world supply). There are several uranium showings typical of unconformity-related uranium deposits (e.g. Camie River and Beaver Lake) in the Monts Otish basin. The Otish Supergroup is characterized by fluvial deposits at the base (Indicator Group) and marginal basin deposits near the top (Genest, 1989). The Indicator Group is composed of sub-arkosic to arkosic sandstones. These rocks are cut by dikes and sills of Paleoproterozoic gabbro.

In 2006, several companies were active in the Monts Otish area, including Cameco (the world's largest low-cost uranium producer, with a 20% market share) and junior Strateco Resources Inc. The promising results obtained by Strateco Resources on the Matoush property (A.A. Matoush showing) highlight the potential of vein-type mineralization associated with a shear zone in sedimentary rocks.

According to Strateco Resources Inc. and previous work carried out by Uranerz Exploration and Mining in 1984, the active channel facies in the sandstone of the Indicator Group is favourable for the emplacement of uranium mineralization. The unit is cut by a post-deposit fault and by gabbro sills that played an important part in mobilizing and concentrating uranium along the fault, which makes the property more interesting. The best recent intersections obtained in drilling are:

  • 2.1% U3O8 over 12.4 m including an intersection grading 4.7% U3O8 over 3.3 m (hole MT-06-30, December 22 press release by Strateco Resources).
  • 1.01% U3O8 over 14.1 m including 2.01% U3O8 over 5.2 m (hole MT-06-4, December 22 press release by Strateco Resources).

The company traced the Matoush structure (fault) over a strike length of 8 km; it has been tested by drilling over nearly 730 metres. Strateco Resources Inc. also mentioned that the true width of the mineralized intervals had not yet been determined.

The Matoush uranium showing differs from the unconformity-related uranium deposit model. Instead, it is similar to uranium-bearing veins associated with shear zones, except that the mineralized zone lies above the unconformity in the sandstone units and not in basement rock as it does at Rabbit Lake or Beaverlodge in northern Saskatchewan (production of more than 25,000 metric tons of U from 1950 to 1982).

The Core Zone of the Nouveau-Québec and Torngat orogens, a new Rössing?

The Core Zone represents new territory for uranium exploration. It attracted attention following the discovery of zones of anomalous uranium values in lake-bottom sediments collected by the MRNF in 1997. In addition, new uranium showings discovered there in 2006 suggest that this area could become a uranium metallogenic province.

The Core Zone (formerly known as the Churchill Province or Rae Province ) forms the basement of the eastern portion of Nunavik. It is wedged between the Paleoproterozoic volcanosedimentary and magmatic rocks of the Nouveau-Québec Orogen (Labrador Trough), to the west, and the Torngat Orogen, to the east, at the Québec–Labrador border. All of these rocks have been affected by the deformation and metamorphism episodes of the Trans-Hudson Orogen (~1.85 to 1.75 Ga). The Core Zone is mainly composed of Archean to Mesoproterozoic tonalitic gneiss, granitoids and mafic intrusions. The Core Zone is divided into several lithotectonic domains, separated by wide deformation corridors; Wardle et al., 2002). Veins and dikes of syn- to late-Hudsonian granitic pegmatite cut across the Archean basement of the Core Zone and the rocks of the Nouveau-Québec and Torngat orogens.

Between the formation of the Archean basement and its exposure on surface (about 2.5 billion years (Ga), the formation of Paleoproterozoic volcanosedimentary sequences (~ 2.1 to 1.85 Ga) and the final emplacement of the last granitic magmas in the form of pegmatites (about 1.75 Ga), more than 750 million years elapsed during which uranium could be mobilized and transported in the course of episodes of erosion, deformation and metamorphism, then deposited and concentrated in the form of mineralization in sedimentary rocks, granites and pegmatites or in structural traps. Accordingly, the huge area covered by the eastern portion of Nunavik, east of the Labrador Trough, is fertile ground for various types of uranium mineralization including:

  • mineralization associated with Rössing-type (Namibia) granitic intrusives (production of 3,711 metric tons at an average grade of 330 ppm U in 2005, representing 7.7% of global production; Rössing Mine Plc) and Madawaska-type (Ontario) granitic intrusives (total production of 4.54 mt at 0.0997% U3O8 and 4,295,281 kg U from 1957 to 1982; Alexander, 1982);
  • mineralization associated with uranium veins related to major Beaverlodge-type shear zones;
  • mineralization associated with unconformity-related uranium or with Athabasca-type sedimentary rocks in the Lake Harbour and Hutte Sauvage groups.

However, it is very likely that the primary uranium mineralization potentially present in the Lake Harbour and Hutte Sauvage groups was remobilized into units or structures favourable for uranium accumulation following the metamorphism and deformation of the Trans-Hudson Orogen.

Lake Harbour Group

The Lake Harbour Group (2.1 to 1.9 Ga) is a volcanosedimentary sequence of the Torngat Orogen. It is composed of quartzofeldspathic, aluminous and graphitic paragneiss, of sequences of calcitic and dolomitic marbles and calcsilicate rocks, and of quartzite and mafic volcanic rocks. These rocks are cut by the Nuvilik mafic suite and by granitoids and pegmatites.

The Lake Harbour Group (2.1 to 1.9 Ga) is a volcanosedimentary sequence of the Torngat Orogen. It is composed of quartzofeldspathic, aluminous and graphitic paragneiss, of sequences of calcitic and dolomitic marbles and calcsilicate rocks, and of quartzite and mafic volcanic rocks. These rocks are cut by the Nuvilik mafic suite and by granitoids and pegmatites. Since the last two years, the junior mining company URANOR explore this area.

The gneissic basement of the Core Zone

The Rae North uranium property, held by the Azimut Exploration Inc. and Northwestern Mineral Ventures Inc. joint venture, is located south and southeast of the village of Kangiqsualujjuaq, at the mouth of the Rivière George, on the east coast of Ungava Bay. The basement of the property is composed of tonalitic and granitic gneiss and of Late Archean granite and pegmatite intrusions. There are also several tectonic outliers of the supracrustal rocks of the Lake Harbour Group and of the Nuvulialuk mafic suite (Verpaelst et al., 1999).

The main mineralized zone is located in a strongly anomalous radiometric zone (from 2,000 to 30,000 counts per second), which is about five kilometres long. Uranium anomalies have been detected in the lake-bottom sediments and preliminary analysis of the helicopter-borne radiometric survey identified 14 anomalies more than one kilometre long, including 7 that are over three kilometres in length. Uranium mineralization has been observed in pegmatites, granites and gneisses. Uraninite has been observed and analyzed by electron microprobe in samples from two sites. Analysis of twenty-two samples revealed grades over 0.05% U3O8 (500 ppm) from 10 different uranium showings in the Rae-1 Zone of the Rae North property. Fourteen samples returned values higher than 0.1% U3O8 (or 1000 ppm); the best values obtained were 0.59%, 0.57%, 0.46%, 0.3% and 0.22% U3O8.

Further south, on the Rivière George property consisting of seven claim blocks distributed between the Rivière George and the Québec–Labrador border, in the area of lakes Brisson and Mistinibi, Freewest Resources Canada discovered four uranium showings. These occurrences of uranium mineralization are located within granitic pegmatite dykes that cut across the gneissic basement of the Core Zone. The mineralized zone is 700 metres wide and nearly 2.6 km long. The best values obtained were 0.384 and use 0.132% U3O8, in grab samples from the Stewart Lake Trend in Block 1. The grades from grab samples of bedrock and erratic blocks range from 100 to 1000 ppm. On the Abigail showing, analysis of a sample from a two-metre-wide granitic pegmatite dyke returned a grade of 0.369% U3O8.

Databases for exploration

There are still huge areas where little exploration for uranium has been done because of a lack of radiometric and geological data. The geochemical survey of lake-bottom sediments conducted in 1997 in Nunavik, by the MRNF and five private sector partners, brought to light significant zones anomalous for uranium along and east of the Rivière George and in the area at the border between Québec and Labrador, between the 54th and 58th parallels. The Géologie Québec directorate published a special-edition map, updated in January 2007, entitled “Uranium in the secondary environment and uranium mineralization". The map highlights the geochemistry of lake-bottom and stream sediments and known mineralization from the SIGÉOM database.

References

ALEXANDER, R.L., 1982, Geology of Madawaska Mines Limited, Bancroft , Ontario , in Uranium deposits of Canada , CIM special volume 33, p. 61-69.

GENEST, S., 1989, Histoire géologique du bassin d’Otish, du Protérozoïque inférieur, Québec, thèse de doctorat non publiée, Université de Montréal.

VERPAELST, P , BRISEBOIS, D., PERREAULT, S., SHARMA, K.N.M., DAVID, J., 2000, Géologie de la région de la rivière Koroc (24 I) et d’une partie de la région d’Hébron (14 L), Ministère des Ressources naturelles et de la Faune, RG 99-08, 62 pages.

WARDLE, R. J., JAMES, B., SCOTT, D. J., HALL, J., 2002, The Southeastern Churchill Province: synthesis of a Paleoproterozoic transpressional orogen, Canadian Journal of Earth Sciences; volume 39, No. 5, pages 639-663.

Additional suggested reading on the types of uranium deposits in Canada and around the world:

Geology of Canadian Mineral Deposit Types , edited by O.R. Eckstrand, W.D. Sinclair and R.I. Thorpe, Geological Survey of Canada, Geology of Canada, No. 8, 1995. See sections 1.1, 1.2, 7, 8.1, 12, 13, 14, 21 and 22 on uranium deposits.

Dahlkamp, F.J., 1993, Uranium ore deposits, Springer-Verlag, New-York Berlin Heidelberg; 460 pages.

Van der Leeden, J., Bélanger, M., Danis, D., Girard, R., Martelin, J., 1990, Lithotectonic domains in the high-grade terrain east of the Labrador Trough (Quebec), in the Early Proterozoic Trans-Hudson Orogen of North America, Lewry, J.F. and Stauffer, M.R., Geological Association of Canada, Special Paper 37, pages 371-386.

À surveiller
Prospectors and Developers Association
of Canada
(PDAC Convention 2007)
Du 4 au 7 mars 2007 >>
 

La croissance fulgurante de l'exploration
pour l'uranium au Québec

Par Serge Perreault, M.Sc. géo.
Adjoint au directeur général
Direction générale de Géologie Québec

L’intérêt de la communauté minière pour l’uranium connaît une montée fulgurante au Québec, après 22 ans de relative inactivité. Cet engouement pour l’uranium est lié directement à son prix sur le marché au comptant (Spot market) qui a atteint un sommet à 72 $US la livre à la fin de janvier 2007. Il en résulte une augmentation des dépenses en exploration pour l’uranium qui n’étaient que de quelques dizaines de milliers de dollars en 2000, de 1,36 M$ et de 4,3 M$ en 2004 et 2005 respectivement, et finalement de 16 M$ en 2006 (données de Ressources naturelles Canada et données réelles provisoires de l’ISQ pour 2006). Ces dépenses ont été réparties sur une quarantaine de projets situés principalement dans la Province de Grenville : dans le Témiscamingue (Kipawa), dans l’Outaouais (Fort-Coulonge), dans les Laurentides (Mont-Laurier) et sur la Côte-Nord (Baie-Johan-Beetz – Aguanish), dans le bassin sédimentaire des monts Otish (au nord-est de Chibougamau) et dans la partie est du Nunavik (dans la Zone Noyau) et les roches métasédimentaires de l’Orogène des Torngat (Groupe de Lake Harbour)) .

Nous présentons ici deux secteurs qui ont attiré l’attention du monde de l’exploration minière en 2006, en raison des résultats obtenus et de l’ouverture de nouveaux territoires d’exploration: le bassin des monts Otish et le secteur de la Zone Noyau au Nunavik.

Le bassin d’Otish, l’Athabasca du Québec?

Le potentiel uranifère du bassin sédimentaire paléoprotérozoïque des monts Otish est souvent comparé avec celui du bassin sédimentaire mésoprotérozoïque de l’Athabasca en Saskatchewan (la production d’uranium dans le bassin de l’Athabasca représente le tiers de l’approvisionnement mondial). Le bassin des monts Otish recèle plusieurs indices uranifères typiques des gîtes d’uranium associés à des discordances (ex. : rivière Camie et lac Beaver). Le Supergroupe d’Otish est caractérisé par des dépôts fluviatiles à la base (le Groupe d’Indicateur) et des dépôts de bassin marginal vers le sommet (Genest, 1989). Le Groupe d’Indicateur est composé de grès subarkosiques à arkosiques. Ces roches sont traversées par des dykes et filons-couches de gabbro du Paléoprotérozoïque.

En 2006, plusieurs compagnies étaient actives dans le secteur des monts Otish dont les compagnies Cameco (le plus gros producteur mondial d’uranium à faible coût avec 20 % des parts du marché) et la compagnie junior Ressources Strateco inc. Les résultats prometteurs obtenus par Ressources Strateco sur la propriété Matoush (indice A.A. Matoush) mettent en relief le potentiel des minéralisations du type filonien associé à une zone de cisaillement dans des roches sédimentaires.

D’après Ressources Strateco inc. et des travaux antérieurs réalisés par Uranerz Exploration and Mining en 1984, le faciès de chenaux actifs dans les grès du Groupe d’Indicateur est propice à la mise en place de la minéralisation uranifère. Cette unité est recoupée par une faille postdépôt et des filons couches de gabbro ayant joué un important rôle dans la mobilisation et la concentration de l’uranium le long de la faille, ce qui rehausse l’intérêt de cette propriété. Les meilleures intersections récentes obtenues en forage sont de :

  2,1 % U3O8 sur 12,4 m dont une intersection de 4,7 % U3O8 sur 3,3 m
    (forage MT-06-30, communiqué de presse du 22 décembre de Ressources Strateco);
  1,01 % U3O8 sur 14,1 m dont 2,01 % U3O8 sur 5,2 m (forage MT-06-4,
    communiqué de presse du 22 décembre de Ressources Strateco).

La compagnie a suivi la structure (faille) Matoush sur une distance de 8 km et elle a été forée sur près de 730 mètres. Ressources Strateco inc. mentionne également que la largeur (épaisseur) vraie des intervalles minéralisés n’a pas encore été déterminée.

L’indice uranifère Matoush diffère du modèle des gîtes d’uranium associé à une discordance. Il présente plutôt des similitudes avec les filons uranifères associés à des zones de cisaillement, à la différence que la zone minéralisée se trouve au-dessus de la discordance, dans les unités de grès et non dans les roches du socle comme à Rabbit Lake ou à Beaverlodge dans le nord de la Saskatchewan (production de plus de 25 000 tonnes d’U entre 1950 et 1982).

La Zone Noyau des orogènes du Nouveau-Québec et des Torngat, un nouveau Rössing?

La Zone Noyau représente un nouveau territoire pour l’exploration de l’uranium. Elle a été mise en évidence à la suite de la découverte de zones anomales en uranium dans les sédiments de fonds de lacs prélevés par le Ministère en 1997. De plus, les nouveaux indices uranifères qui y ont été mis au jour au cours de 2006 laissent présager que cette région pourrait devenir une province métallogénique uranifère.

La Zone Noyau (anciennement connue sous les vocables de Province de Churchill ou de Rae) forme le socle rocheux de la partie orientale du Nunavik. Elle est coincée entre les roches volcanosédimentaires et magmatiques paléoprotérozoïques des orogènes du Nouveau-Québec (Fosse du Labrador) à l’ouest et des Torngat à l’est, à la frontière Québec–Labrador. Toutes ces roches ont été affectées par les épisodes de déformation et de métamorphisme de l’orogenèse trans-hudsonienne (~ 1,85 à 1,75 Ga). La Zone Noyau est composée, en grande partie, de gneiss tonalitiques, de granitoïdes et d’intrusions mafiques d’âge Archéen à Mésoprotérozoïque. La Zone Noyau est divisée en plusieurs domaines lithotectoniques séparés par de grands corridors de déformation (figure 2; Wardle et al., 2002). Des veines et dykes de pegmatite granitique syn à tardi-hudsoniens recoupent le socle archéen de la Zone Noyau et les roches des orogènes du Nouveau-Québec et des Torngat.

Entre la formation du socle archéen et son exposition à la surface (vers 2,5 milliards d’années (Ga)), la formation des séquences volcanosédimentaires du Paléoprotérozoïque (~ 2,1 à 1,85 Ga) et la mise en place finale des derniers magmas granitiques, sous la forme de pegmatite (vers 1,75 Ga), il s’est écoulé plus de 750 millions d’années où l’uranium a pu être mobilisé et transporté lors d’épisodes d’érosion, de déformation et de métamorphisme, puis déposé et concentré sous la forme de minéralisations dans des roches sédimentaires, dans des granites et pegmatites ou dans des pièges structuraux. Ainsi, le vaste territoire de la partie est du Nunavik, à l’est des roches de la Fosse du Labrador, représente un terrain fertile pour divers types de minéralisations uranifères dont celles associées :

  à des intrusifs granitiques de type Rössing (Namibie production de 3 711 tonnes à une
    teneur moyenne de 330 ppm d’U en 2005, représentant 7,7 % de la production mondiale,
    Rössing Mine Plc) et de madawaska (Ontario production totale de 4,54 tm à 0,0997 %
    d’U3O8et de 4.295.281 kg d’U entre 1957 et 1982; Alexander, 1982);
  à de l’uranium filonien rattaché à des zones de cisaillement majeures de type Beaverlodge;
  à de l’uranium rattaché à une discordance ou à des roches sédimentaires du type
    Athabasca dans les groupes de Lake Harbour et de la Hutte Sauvage.

Toutefois, il est fort probable que les minéralisations uranifères primaires potentiellement présentes dans les groupes de Lake Harbour et de la Hutte Sauvage ont été remobilisées dans des unités ou des structures propices à l’accumulation d’uranium à la suite du métamorphisme et de la déformation de l’orogènese trans-hudsonienne.

Groupe de Lake Harbour

Le Groupe de Lake Harbour (2,1 à 1,9 Ga) est une séquence volcano-sédimentaire de l’Orogène des Torngat. Il est composé de paragneiss quartzofeldspathiques, alumineux et graphiteux, de séquences de marbres calcitique et dolomitique de roches calcosilicatées, de quartzite et de roches volcaniques mafiques. Ces roches sont recoupées par la suite mafique de Nuvilik et par des granitoïdes et des pegmatites.

Le Groupe de Lake Harbour (2,1 à 1,9 Ga) est une séquence volcano-sédimentaire de l’Orogène des Torngat. Il est composé de paragneiss quartzofeldspathiques, alumineux et graphiteux, de séquences de marbres calcitique et dolomitique de roches calcosilicatées, de quartzite et de roches volcaniques mafiques. Ces roches sont recoupées par la suite mafique de Nuvilik et par des granitoïdes et des pegmatites. La compagnie junior URANOR y mène des travaux depuis les deux dernières années.

Le socle gneissique de la  Zone Noyau

La propriété uranifère Rae Nord (figure 2), du tandem Exploration Azimut inc. et Northwestern Mineral Ventures inc., est située au sud et au sud-est du village de Kangiqsualujjuaq, à l’embouchure de la rivière Georges, sur la côte orientale de la baie d’Ungava. Le socle rocheux de la propriété est composé de gneiss tonalitique et granitique et d’intrusions tardi-archéennes de granite et de pegmatite. On y trouve également des lambeaux tectoniques de roches supracrustales du Groupe de Lake Harbour et de la suite mafique de Nuvulialuk (Verpaelst et al., 1999).

La principale zone minéralisée est située à l’intérieur d’une zone de forte anomalie radiométrique (de 2 000 à 30 000 chocs par seconde) qui s’étire sur environ cinq kilomètres. Des anomalies d’uranium ont été décelées dans les sédiments de fonds de lacs et l’analyse préliminaire du levé radiométrique héliporté a permis de déceler 14 anomalies de longueur supérieure à un kilomètre, dont 7 ont une longueur supérieure à trois kilomètres. La minéralisation uranifère a été observée dans des pegmatites, des granites et des gneiss. De l’uraninite a été observée et analysée par microsonde électronique dans des échantillons provenant de deux sites. Vingt-deux échantillons ont révélé à l’analyse des teneurs supérieures à 0,05 % U3O8 (500 ppm), provenant de 10 indices uranifères distincts sur la zone Rae-1 de la propriété Rae Nord. Quatorze échantillons ont retourné à l’analyse des valeurs supérieures à 0,1 % U3O8 (ou 1000 ppm) et les meilleures teneurs sont de 0,59 %, 0,57 %, 0,46 %, 0,3 % et 0,22 % U3O8.

Plus au sud, sur la propriété Rivière Georges, composée de sept blocs de claims dispersés entre la rivière Georges et la frontière Québec–Labrador, dans la région des lacs Brisson et Mistinibi, Ressources Freewest Canada a mis au jour quatre indices uranifères. Ces minéralisations uranifères sont localisées à l’intérieur de dykes de pegmatite granitique qui recoupent le socle gneissique de la Zone Noyau. La zone minéralisée s’étire sur près de 2,6 km sur une largeur de 700 mètres. Les meilleures valeurs obtenues sont de 0,384 et 0,132 % U3O8, sur des échantillons choisis provenant de la propriété Stewart Lake Trend. Les teneurs provenant d’échantillons choisis de roche en place et de blocs erratiques sont comprises dans un intervalle de 100 à 1000 ppm. Sur l’indice Abigail, un échantillon, prélevé d’un dyke de deux mètres de largeur d’une pegmatite granitique, a retourné à l’analyse des teneurs de 0,369 % U3O8.

Bases de données pour l’exploration

De vastes territoires demeurent peu explorés pour l’uranium en raison du manque de données radiométriques et géologiques. Le levé de géochimie de sédiments de fonds de lacs réalisé en 1997 dans le Nunavik, par le Ministère et cinq partenaires privés, a permis de mettre au jour d’importantes zones anomales en uranium le long et à l’est de la rivière Georges et dans la région limitrophe du Québec et du Labrador entre le 54e et le 58e parallèle. La Direction générale de Géologie Québec a publié une carte hors série, mise à jour en janvier 2007, intitulée « Uranium dans l’environnement secondaire et minéralisations d’uranium ». Cette carte met en valeur la géochimie de sédiments de fonds de lacs et de ruisseaux et les minéralisations connues provenant de la base de données du SIGÉOM.

Références

ALEXANDER, R.L., 1982., Geology of Madawaska Mines Limited, Bancroft, Ontario. Dans Uranium deposits of Canada, CIM special volume 33, p. 61-69.

GENEST, S., 1989, Histoire géologique du bassin d’Otish, du Protérozoïque inférieur, Québec, thèse de doctorat non publiée, Université de Montréal.

VERPAELST, P , BRISEBOIS, D., PERREAULT, S., SHARMA, K.N.M., DAVID, J., 2000, Géologie de la région de la rivière Koroc (24 I) et d’une partie de la région d’Hébron (14 L), Ministère des Ressources naturelles et de la Faune, RG 99-08, 62 pages.

WARDLE, R. J., JAMES, B., SCOTT, D. J., HALL, J., 2002, The Southeastern Churchill Province: synthesis of a Paleoproterozoic transpressional orogen, Canadian Journal of Earth Sciences; volume 39, nº 5, pages 639-663.

Autres lectures suggérées sur les types de gîtes uranifères au Canada et dans le monde :

Géologie des types de gîtes minéraux du Canada , révision par O.R. Eckstrand, W.D. Sinclair et R.I. Thorpe, Commission géologique du Canada, Géologie du Canada, nº 8, 1996. Voir les sections sur les gîtes d’uranium 1.1, 1.2, 7, 8.1, 12, 13, 14, 21 et 22.

Dahlkamp, F.J., 1993, Uranium ore deposits, Éditeur Springer-Verlag, New-York Berlin Heidelberg; 460 pages.

Van der Leeden, J., Bélanger, M., Danis, D., Girard, R., Martelin, J., 1990, Lithotectonic domains in the high-grade terrain east of the Labrador Trough (Quebec), dans The early Proterozoic Trans-Hudson Orogen of North America, Lewry, J.F. et Stauffer, M.R., éditeurs, Geological Association of Canada, Special Paper 37, pages 371-386.