Upcoming eents
Prospectors and Developers Association
of Canada
(PDAC Convention 2007)
March 4 - 7, 2007 >>

Uranium: a breath of optimism

Serge Perreault, Resident Geologist
Service de Géologie Québec

  • Uranium deposits in Québec >>
  • Québec's potential >>
  • History of uranium economics >>
  • Today >>
  • World production of uranium >>
  • References >>

Québec’s mining industry is showing a renewed interest for uranium after 22 years of relative inactivity. Although most uranium production is concentrated in Saskatchewan and the majority of exploration expenditures are focused in that province, Québec still represents a promising territory for uranium exploration. The mineral exploration work that has covered large expanses of the province has only limited significance for current uranium exploration due to the lack of radiometric, geochemical and geological data relevant to the commodity. However, thanks to a recent geochemical survey of lake bottom sediment in the Far North, a mapping project in the northern part of the Superior Province, and judicial use of the SIGEOM database, it is now possible to plan field exploration programs for territories that were never examined in the 1960’s and 70’s.

Uranium deposits in Québec

Québec experienced two waves of exploration for uranium. The first took place in the 1950’s and 1960’s and was accompanied by the completion of large regional airborne radiometric surveys by the Geological Survey of Canada. These surveys only covered southern Québec. The second period began in the mid-1970’s and ended in the early 1980’s. Since then, exploration for uranium has practically ceased. Beginning in the fall of 2004, known uranium deposits aroused the interest of several junior and senior companies that had returned to Québec.

In Québec, several types of uranium deposits are known (Clark and Wares, 2004; Sidex 2004; SIGEOM-Gîtes; Boily and Gosselin, 2004; Gosselin et al., 2003; Masse, 1974):


(Format PDF, 177 Kb)
  • Sandstone-hosted stratiform deposits of sedimentary origin (Sakami Formation [e.g., Lac Gayot (Fearless One) and Lac Bert deposits]; Chioak Group in the Labrador Trough [e.g., Chioak showing]);
  • Unconformity-related deposits, like those of the Athabaska Basin (e.g., Rivière Camie and Lac du Castor deposits in the Otish Basin);
  • Epithermal vein-type deposits with copper and/or associated with albitization (e.g., Sagar showing, in the Labrador Trough);
  • Uranium–gold deposits in conglomerates, like those of Elliot Lake in Ontario (Apple Formation in the Superior Province);
  • Iron oxide-type with uranium, copper and gold associations, like Olympic Dam in Australia (e.g., Nipissis [Kwijibo] showings on the North Shore);
  • Deposits associated with pegmatites and granitoids (e.g., Grenville Province showings in the Mont-Laurier–Grand-Remous region and the Baie-Johan-Beetz and Aguanish, regions on the Côte-Nord);
  • Palabora-type deposits associated with carbonatites or alkaline igneous complexes (e.g., the Oka carbonatite or the Strange Lake deposit in the alkaline complex of Lac Brisson)

Québec’s potential

Most of the showings worked between the 1960’s and 1980’s did not turn out to be economical. Nonetheless, a potential for economic uranium deposits definitely does exist in Québec.

  • The Paleoproterozoic sedimentary rocks in the Bassin Otish, Sakami Formation and those bordering the Labrador Trough (Chioak Group) represent highly favourable zones for unconformity-type (Athabaska-type) and stratiform sandstone hosted-type deposits. It would thus be interesting to also evaluate the potential of the Wakeham Group in the Grenville Province.
  • The Labrador Trough is a perfect example for vein-type deposits associated with albitization. The potential for the Ungava Orogen (Ungava Trough) and the Grenville Province are still to be determined.
  • Deposits associated with pegmatites (alaskites) and Rossing-type (Namibia) peraluminous granitoids are well known in the Grenville Province and examples are also documented in the Superior Province. It would be interesting to know if any are present in the Core Zone (hinterland) between the eastern limits of the Labrador Trough and the Torngat Orogen. The presence of migmatized metasediments, a trail of sizeable granitic intrusions (e.g., the De Pas batholith), and uraniferous anomalies in lake bottom sediments warrant further investigation of this extensive territory.
  • With respect to the uranium potential in the Appalachians, only a few showings are known (e.g., Saint-Armand and Sainte-Anne-du-Lac near Thetford-Mines). However, this geological province warrants further attention due to its position near major transport infrastructures and North American markets.
  • Finally, there may be a potential for uranium deposits associated with felsic volcanic rocks with subalkaline to hyperalkaline affinities (e.g., Michelin deposit in Labrador). The Wakeham Group (Grenville Province), some of the volcanic units in the Nouveau-Québec Orogen and the Appalachians represent target areas for this type of deposit.

History of uranium economics

The great depression experienced by the uranium market can be attributed to a number of factors, including the major accidents at nuclear facilities in the United States (1970) and the ex-USSR (1986) that slowed or completely halted the construction of new nuclear facilities in these and several other industrialized countries. New supply sources of secondary plutonium and uranium made their appearance on the market in the 1990’s following the nuclear disarmament of the two superpowers, the recycling of uranium and plutonium fuel rods, and the liquidation of uranium inventories (Comb, 2004; World Nuclear Association, October 2004).

Between 1970 and 1984, the uranium market was dominated by a primary production that exceeded the needs of nuclear reactors. The production was based on erroneous forecasts of a sharp increase in nuclear energy production (Sidex, 2004). Right up until 1990, the primary production of uranium oxide (U3O8) largely exceeded demand. After 1990, U3O8 production declined in proportion to demand (Comb, 2004), and stockpiles were even liquidated between 1985 and 2003.

Starting about two years ago, the spot price for U3O8 increased dramatically to attain US$30/lb in October 2003 (source: Ux Weekly; Bonnel and Chapman, 2005). It was in 1976-1977 that the price of U3O8 attained its historic high at just over US$100/lb (price in 2004 dollars or ~ US$43/lb in current dollars). This high was followed by a rapid decline, beginning in 1980, to bottom out at under US$8/lb in 2001. Spot prices account for about 15% of the uranium market, whereas 85% of transactions are carried out in the form of long-term contracts, generally at a higher cost than the spot price (Sidex, 2004).

Today

In the years since the Kyoto summit, prominent industrialized countries have made efforts to reduce their greenhouse gas emissions, which are partly responsible for the climate changes noted by scientists for over a century. With the exception of hydro-electricity, solar energy and wind energy, nuclear energy releases the least amount of greenhouse gases compared to fossil fuels (World Nuclear Association, February 2005). In order to meet their Kyoto commitments and reduce their dependence on oil and natural gas to meet their energy needs, many industrialized countries have decided to construct new nuclear power plants. Furthermore a rising demand in energy needs by emerging countries like China, India and some in southeast Asia, the progressive depletion of several currently mined deposits is anticipated shortage between now and the next 10 to 15 years. The current production of primary uranium represents 55% of the needs of operating nuclear reactors (World Nuclear Association, October 2004). Collectively, these are the necessary ingredients for an upsurge of uranium spot prices, which would lead to a renewed interest on the part of mining companies to dedicate some of their exploration expenditures for uranium.

World production of uranium

World production of uranium attained 36,300 tonnes in 2003 (Bonel, 2005). World reserves for ore with a production cost of less than US$40/kg are estimated at nearly 2 Mt uranium, representing more than a 30-year supply for existing reactors (Sidex, 2004). The Canadian production for 2004 amounts to 13,676 tonnes of U3O8 concentrate and is equivalent to 30% of world production. This production is evaluated at CA$800 million. Uranium resources with low production costs (Reasonably Assured Resources and Category I Estimated Additional Resources) amount to 590,000 tonnes U3O8 and corresponds to 12% of world production. For comparison, global reserves with low production costs are twice that of Canadian reserves. Canadian production comes entirely from Saskatchewan (Athabaska Basin). In 2003, about $13 million dedicated to off-site mineral exploration, mainly in Saskatchewan (World Nuclear Association, August 2005). At the present time, Québec does not produce uranium.

References

Bonel, K.A., 2005. Uranium, In World metals and minerals review 2005, éditeurs Metal Bulletin, British Geological Survey and Industrial Minerals, p. 293-297.

Clark, T. and Wares, R. 2004. Synthèse lithotectonique et métallogénique de l’Orogène du Nouveau-Québec (Fosse du Labrador), Ministère des Ressources naturelles et de la Faune, Québec; MM 2004-01, 182 p.

Comb, J., 2004. Fueling the future: A new paradigm assuring uranium supplies in an abnormal market, World Nuclear Association Annual Symposium, September 8-10 2004, London, 16 p.

Boily. M. and Gosselin, C., 2004. Les principaux types de minéralisations en métaux rares (Y-Zr-Nb-Ta-Li-Be-ETR) au Québec, Ministère des Ressources naturelles et de la Faune, Québec, ET 2004-01, 41 p.

Gosselin, C. and collaborators, 2003. Rare metals mineralizations in Québec (Y-Zr-Nb-Ta-Li-Be-ETR), Ministère des Ressources naturelles et de la Faune, Québec, DV 2003-04.

Masse, J.P., 1974. L’uranium au Québec, Ministère des Ressources naturelles et de la Faune, Québec; GM 51690, 88 p.

SIDEX, 2004. Exploring for uranium in Québec, SIDEX Diversification Bulletin, November 2004, 12 p.

World Nuclear Association, 2004. Uranium markets, October 2004, 5 p.

World Nuclear Association, 2005. Sustainable Energy, February 2005, 5 p.

World Nuclear Association, 2005. Canada’s uranium production and nuclear power, August 2005, 8 p.

Other suggested readings on uranium deposit types in Canada and the world:

Geology of Canadian Mineral Deposit Types, edited by O.R. Eckstrand, W.D. Sinclair and R.I. Thorpe, Geological Survey of Canada, Geology of Canada, no. 8, 1996. See sections 1.1, 1.2, 7, 8.1, 12, 13, 14, 21 and 22.

Dahlkamp, F.J., 1993. Uranium ore deposits. Springer-Verlag, New-York Berlin Heidelberg; 460 pages.

À surveiller
Prospectors and Developers Association
of Canada
(PDAC Convention 2007)
Du 4 au 7 mars 2007 >>

L'uranium : un vent d'optimisme

Serge Perreault, géologue résident,
Direction de Géologie Québec

  • Les gîtes d'uranium au Québec Les gîtes d'uranium au Québec >>
  • Potentiel au Québec >>
  • Un rappel économique >>
  • En 2005 >>
  • La production mondiale d'uranium >>
  • Références >>

L’intérêt de la communauté minière pour l’uranium renaît au Québec après 22 ans de relative inactivité. Même si la production d’uranium est concentrée en Saskatchewan et que c’est dans cette province que la majeure partie des dépenses en exploration au Canada sont consacrées, le Québec représente néanmoins un terrain de jeu intéressant pour l’exploration de cette substance. Bien que de vastes régions du Québec aient déjà fait l’objet de travaux d’exploration, ceux-ci n’ont eu qu’une importance limitée en raison du manque de données radiométriques, géochimiques et géologiques. Toutefois, grâce à un récent levé géochimique de sédiments de fonds de lac dans le Grand- Nord, à la cartographie de la partie nord de la Province du Supérieur et à une utilisation judicieuse des bases de données de SIGEOM, il est maintenant possible de planifier des campagnes d’exploration de terrain dans des territoires qui furent oubliés entre les années 1960 et 1980.

Les gîtes d’uranium au Québec

Le Québec a connu deux grandes vagues d’exploration pour l’uranium. La première a lieu dans les années 1950 et 1960. Cette période correspond également à la réalisation de grands levés radiométriques aéroportés régionaux par la Commission géologique du Canada. Seul le sud du Québec est couvert par ces levés. La deuxième période commence au milieu des années 1970 et se termine au début des années 1980. Depuis, l’exploration pour l’uranium a pratiquement cessé. Cependant, à partir de l’automne 2004, les anciens gîtes d’uranium connus ont suscité la convoitise de plusieurs compagnies minières junior et senior.

Au Québec plusieurs types de gîtes d’uranium ont été reconnus (Clark et Wares, 2004; Sidex 2004; SIGÉOM-Gîtes; Boily et Gosselin, 2004; Gosselin et al., 2003; Masse, 1974) :


(Format PDF, 186 Ko)

  • les gîtes d’origine sédimentaire stratiforme dans les grès (Formation de Sakami (ex. : gîtes Lac Gayot (Fearless One) et Lac Bert); Groupe de Chioak dans la Fosse du Labrador (ex. : indice Chioak);
  • les gîtes liés à des discordances, semblables à ceux du bassin de l’Athabasca (ex. : rivière Camie et lac du Castor, dans le bassin des monts Otish);
  • les gîtes filoniens (épithermaux), avec cuivre et/ou or, associés à de l’albitisation (ex. : indice Sagar, dans la Fosse du Labrador);
  • les gîtes d’uranium–or dans des conglomérats, semblables à ceux d’Elliot Lake en Ontario (formation d’Apple dans la Province du Supérieur);
  • les gîtes de type fer-oxydes avec uranium, cuivre et or, de type Olympic Dam en Australie (ex. : les indices Nipissis (Kwijibo) sur la Côte-Nord);
  • les gîtes associés à des pegmatites et des granitoïdes (ex. : indices de la région de Mont-Laurier–Grand-Remous, région de Baie-Johan-Beetz et d’Aguanish, sur la Côte-Nord dans la Province de Grenville);
  • les gîtes associés à des carbonatites ou à des complexes ignés alcalins, du type Palabora (ex. : carbonatite d’Oka; complexe alcalin du lac Brisson (Strange Lake)).

Potentiel au Québec

La plupart des indices travaillés entre les années 1960 et 1980 n’ont pas permis de mettre au jour des gîtes rentables. Toutefois, le potentiel minéral pour des gîtes d’uranium est présent au Québec.

  • Les roches sédimentaires du Paléoprotérozoïque du bassin des monts Otish, de la Formation de Sakami et de celles de la bordure ouest de la Fosse du Labrador (Groupe de Chioak) représentent des zones hautement favorables à des gîtes de type discordance (type Athabasca) et de type sédimentaire stratiforme dans des grès. Il faut se demander ce qu’il en est pour le Groupe de Wakeham dans la Province de Grenville.
  • La Fosse du Labrador est l’exemple parfait de gîtes de type filonien associé à de l’albitisation. Le potentiel pour l’Orogène de l’Ungava (Fosse de l’Ungava) et de la Province de Grenville reste aussi à déterminer.
  • Les gîtes associés aux pegmatites (alaskites) et aux granitoïdes peralumineux de type Rössing (Namibie) sont fort bien connus dans la Province de Grenville et quelques exemples sont connus dans la Province du Supérieur. Il serait intéressant de savoir ce qu’il en est de la zone Noyau située entre les limites orientales de la Fosse du Labrador et celle de l’Orogène des Monts Torngat. La présence de métasédiments migmatisés, d’un cortège imposants d’intrusifs granitiques (ex. : batholite De Pas) et d’anomalies uranifères dans les sédiments de fonds de lac mérite que l’on s’attarde à ce vaste territoire.
  • Pour ce qui est du potentiel uranifère des Appalaches, seuls quelques indices sont connus (ex. : Saint-Armand, Sainte-Anne-du-Lac, près de Thetford-Mines). Toutefois, cette province géologique mérite une attention particulière puisqu’elle est située près des infrastructures majeures de transport et des grands marchés nord-américains.
  • Enfin, il existe peut-être un potentiel pour les gîtes d’uranium associés à des roches volcaniques felsiques d’affinité subalcaline à hyperalcaline (ex. : le gîte Michelin au Labrador). Le Groupe de Wakeham (Province de Grenville), certaines unités volcaniques de l’Orogène du Nouveau-Québec et des Appalaches représentent des zones cibles pour ce type de gîtes.

Un rappel économique

La grande dépression qu’a connu le marché de l’uranium est attribuée à plusieurs facteurs, dont des accidents majeurs dans des centrales nucléaires aux États-Unis (1979) et dans l’ex-URSS (1986), qui ont ralenti ou tout simplement stoppé la mise en chantier de nouvelles centrales nucléaires dans ces pays et dans certains pays industrialisés. Avec la dénucléarisation de l’arsenal nucléaire des deux superpuissances, le recyclage des barres de combustibles d’uranium et de plutonium et la liquidation d’inventaires d’uranium, de nouvelles sources d’approvisionnement secondaire de plutonium et d’uranium firent leur apparition sur les marchés dans les années 1990 (Comb, 2004, World Nuclear Association, octobre 2004).

Le marché de l’uranium a été dominé par une production primaire qui excédait les besoins des réacteurs nucléaires entre 1970 et 1984. Cette production d’uranium était basée sur des prévisions erronées d’une forte croissance de la production d’énergie nucléaire (Sidex, 2004). Jusqu’en 1990, la production primaire d’oxyde octovalent d’uranium (U3O8) dépassait largement la demande. Par la suite, cette production primaire d’U3O8 a décru par rapport à la demande (Comb, 2004). Entre 1985 et 2003, nous avons même assisté à une liquidation des stocks.

Depuis près de deux ans, le prix spot d’U3O8 a augmenté en flèche pour atteindre 30 $ US/lb sur le marché international, alors qu’il était à 12 $ US/lb en octobre 2003 (source : Ux Weekly; Bonel et Chapman, 2005). En 1976-1977, le prix du U3O8 avait atteint un sommet historique inégalé, au-delà de 100 $ US/lb (prix en dollars de 2004 ou ~ 43 $ US/lb en dollars courants). Il a ensuite connu une décroissance vertigineuse à partir de 1980 pour atteindre le fond du baril en 2001 en s’établissant sous la barre des 8 $ US/lb. Les prix spot de l’uranium représentent environ 15 % du marché alors que 85 % des transactions sont conclues sous la forme de contrats à long terme, généralement à un prix supérieur au prix spot (Sidex, 2004).

En 2005

Depuis le sommet de Kyoto, les principaux pays industrialisés se sont engagés à réduire leur émissions de gaz à effet de serres, responsable en partie des changements climatiques notés par les scientifiques depuis plus d’un siècle. Hormis l’hydro-électricité, l’énergie solaire ou l’énergie éolienne, l’énergie nucléaire est celle qui dégage le moins de gaz à effet de serre comparée à l’énergie produite à partir des combustibles fossiles (World Nuclear Association, février 2005). Afin de rencontrer les exigences de Kyoto et de réduire leur dépendance face au pétrole et au gaz naturel pour combler leur besoin énergétique, plusieurs pays industrialisés ont décidé de construire de nouvelles centrales nucléaires. De plus, compte tenu de la demande croissante en besoin énergétique de la part de pays émergeant telle que la Chine, l’Inde et autres pays du sud-est asiatique, ainsi que l’épuisement progressif de plusieurs gisements actuellement exploités, un manque d’approvisionnement en uranium est anticipé d’ici les 10 à 15 prochaines années. Actuellement la production primaire d’uranium ne représente que 55 % des besoins des réacteurs nucléaires en opération (World Nuclear Association, octobre 2004). Ceux-ci constituent des ingrédients nécessaires à une recrudescence des prix spot de l’uranium qui favorisera un regain d’intérêt de la part des compagnies minières à concentrer une partie de leurs dépenses en exploration à la recherche de gîtes uranifères.

La production mondiale d’uranium

La production mondiale d’uranium en 2003 a atteint 36 300 tonnes (Bonnel and Chapman, 2005). Les réserves mondiales dont le coût de production est inférieur à 40 $/kg sont estimées à près de 2 Mt d’uranium, ce qui représente plus de 30 ans de besoins pour les réacteurs existants (Sidex, 2004). La production canadienne pour 2004 s’est élevée à 13 676 tonnes de concentré d’U3O8 et équivaut à 30 % de la production mondiale. Cette production est évaluée à 800 M$ CA. Les réserves d’uranium à bas coût de production (ce qui comprend les ressources assurées raisonnables et les ressources additionnelles estimées de catégorie 1) sont de 590 000 tonnes d’U3O8 et correspondent à 12 % des réserves mondiales. Par comparaison, les réserves d’U3O8à bas coût de production représentent le double des réserves canadiennes. La production canadienne provient en totalité de la Saskatchewan (bassin de l’Athabasca). En 2003, environ 13 M$ ont été consacrés à l’exploration minière hors site, principalement en Saskatchewan (World Nuclear Association, août 2005). À l’heure actuelle, le Québec ne produit pas d’uranium.

Références

Bonnel and Chapman, 2005. Uranium, Dans World metals and minerals review 2005, éditeurs Metal Bulletin, British Geological Survey and Industrial Minerals, p. 293-297.

Clark, T. et Wares, R. 2004. Synthèse lithotectonique et métallogénique de l’Orogène du Nouveau-Québec (Fosse du Labrador), Ministère des Ressources naturelles et de la Faune, Québec; MM 2004-01, 182 p.

Comb, J., 2004. Fueling the future: A new paradigm assuring uranium supplies in an abnormal market, World Nuclear Association Annual Symposium, 8 au10 septembre 2004, London, 16 p.

Boily. M. et Gosselin, C., 2004. Les principaux types de minéralisations en métaux rares (Y-Zr-Nb-Ta-Li-Be-ETR) au Québec, Ministère des Ressources naturelles et de la Faune, Québec, ET 2004-01, 41 p.

Gosselin, C. et collaborateurs, 2003. Minéralisations en métaux rares (Y-Zr-Nb-Ta-Li-Be-ETR) au Québec, Ministère des Ressources naturelles et de la Faune, Québec, DV 2003-03.

Masse, J.P., 1974. L’uranium au Québec, Ministère des Ressources naturelles et de la Faune, Québec; GM 51690, 88 p.

SIDEX, 2004. Explorer pour l’uranium au Québec, Bulletin SIDEX, novembre 2004, 12 p.

World Nuclear Association, 2004. Uranium markets, octobre 2004, 5 p.

World Nuclear Association, 2005. Sustainable Energy, février 2005, 5 p.

World Nuclear Association, 2005. Canada’s uranium production and nuclear power, août 2005, 8 p.

Autres lectures suggérées sur les types de gîtes uranifères au Canada et dans le monde :

Géologie des types de gîtes minéraux du Canada, révision par O.R. Eckstrand, W.D. Sinclair et R.I. Thorpe, Commission géologique du Canada, Géologie du Canada, nº 8, 1996. Voir les sections 1.1, 1.2, 7, 8.1, 12, 13, 14, 21 et 22.

Dahlkamp, F.J., 1993. Uranium ore deposits. Éditeur Springer-Verlag, New-York Berlin Heidelberg; 460 pages.