Upcoming eents
Prospectors and Developers Association
of Canada
(PDAC Convention 2007)
March 4 - 7, 2007 >>

High PGE potential in the Matagami area

Jean Goutier
Géologie Québec

Recent mapping fieldwork and mineral inventory by the Department has allowed, among other things, to characterize the platinum group elements (PGE) mineralization of the rivière Bell Complex and to suggest exploration guides for this area. The rivière Bell area (NTS 32 F/10, 11 and 12) presents fundamental characteristics favourable to the occurrence of rare metals of the platinum group elements. The main showings recorded on this little explored, huge territory already seem to indicate an association with different geological contexts, even if they are separated by slightly more than 10 kilometres. The possibility to discover other sites with PGE economic grades in the area remain therefore very high.

Historical background

The rivière Bell Complex is a large magmatic intrusion (20 km by 65 km) located on both sides of this river in the Matagami area. As early as the first mapping fieldwork of the 1930’s, geologists have compared this intrusion to the Bushveld of South Africa. The rivière Bell Complex is known for its association with the zinc-, copper- and silver-bearing massive sulphide deposits of Matagami. Moreover, showings of copper, nickel, vanadiferous magnetite, and titanium also occur in this intrusion (figure 1). The discovery of the first two PGE showings in the area by SOQUEM goes back to the beginning of the 1990’s. The showings are Ebay, BWest and Dotcom.

Table 1: List of the three PGE showings of the rivière Bell Complex

Name

Ebay

BWest

Dotcom

Discovery

1991

2001

1991

Company

SOQUEM

Hinterland

SOQUEM

 

 

 

 

Platinum

2.26 g/t Pt

0.79 g/t Pt

2.00 g/t Pt

Palladium

0.69 g/t Pd

1.29 g/t Pd

2.87 g/t Pd

Copper

0.04% Cu

0.44% Cu

0.34% Cu

Nickel

0.02% Ni

0.24% Ni

0.32% Ni

Type

Stratiform

Shear zone-hosted

Intrusion breccia


The recent mapping fieldwork by the Department and exploration activities by the industry have shown that these showings correspond to three mineralization types, including the two so-called classic types. The Ebay showing corresponds to the stratiform type formed by a PGE-enriched magma. Some levels, such as the extension of this showing, are worth prospecting with the hope of finding other enriched zones. The best showing is associated with a shear zone.

This type of structure is frequently PGE-enriched like the Shear Ore of the Lac des Iles deposit. The Dotcom showing is associated with the intrusion breccia type. The geochemistry of this rock indicates that it is a distinct intrusion which can also be found outside the Complex.

Figure 1. Location of PGE in the rivière Bell Complex near Matagami, and distribution of the other mineralized showings associated with this magmatic intrusion.

The PGE in the world

PGE are rare metals grouping together platinum, palladium, rhodium, ruthenium, iridium and osmium. These metals are corrosion resistant and their melting point is very high. The production of car catalysts is one of the main uses for PGE. Moreover, PGE are in demand for electrical applications, manufacturing of laboratory crucibles and numismatic coinage (collector coinage), dentistry and jewellery. At the moment, palladium, platinum and rhodium are worth respectively less than half, twice and three times the gold price.

South Africa and Russia are the main producers of PGE. Canada and the United States are lesser producers. PGE are found in primary deposits or as by-products of copper and nickel deposits such as Raglan in Nord-du-Québec or Sudbury in Ontario. Primary PGE deposits are divided in two categories: stratiform or intrusion breccia. Stratiform deposits are associated with large magmatic intrusions and form the most important PGE deposits in the world, such as those found in the Bushveld intrusion of South Africa. Deposits associated with intrusion breccias are linked to much smaller intrusions. The intrusion breccia type Lac des Iles deposit north of Thunder Bay, Ontario, is the only primary PGE mine in North America.

À surveiller
Prospectors and Developers Association
of Canada
(PDAC Convention 2007)
Du 4 au 7 mars 2007 >>

Un potentiel élevé en platinoïdes dans la région de Matagami

Jean Goutier
Direction de Géologie Québec

Les récents travaux de cartographie et d’inventaire minéral du Ministère ont entre autres permis de caractériser la minéralisation de platinoïdes du Complexe de la Rivière Bell et de proposer des guides d’exploration pour cette région. La région de la rivière Bell (SNRC 32 F/10, 11 et 12) présente des caractéristiques fondamentales favorables à la présence de métaux rares d’éléments du groupe du platine. Déjà, les indices principaux répertoriés sur ce vaste territoire peu exploré semblent indiquer une association avec des contextes géologiques différents, même s’ils sont distants d’un peu plus de 10 kilomètres. La possibilité de découvrir d’autres sites avec des teneurs économiques de platinoïdes dans la région demeure donc fortement élevé.

Historique

Le Complexe de la Rivière Bell est une grande intrusion magmatique (20 km par 65 km) située de part et d’autre de cette rivière dans la région de Matagami. Dès les premiers travaux de cartographie effectués dans les années 1930, les géologues comparaient cette intrusion à celle du Bushveld en Afrique du Sud. Le Complexe de la Rivière Bell est connu pour son association avec les gisements de sulfures massifs de zinc, de cuivre et d’argent de Matagami. De plus, des indices de cuivre, de nickel, de magnétite vanadifère et de titane sont aussi présents dans cette intrusion (figure 1). La découverte des deux premiers indices de platinoïdes de la région par SOQUEM remontent au début des années 1990. Les indices sont Ebay, BWest et Dotcom.

Tableau 1 : Liste des trois indices de platinoïdes du Complexe de la Rivière Bell

Nom

Ebay

BWest

Dotcom

Découverte

1991

2001

1991

Compagnie

SOQUEM

Hinterland

SOQUEM

 

 

 

 

Platine

2,26 g/t Pt

0,79 g/t Pt

2,00 g/t Pt

Palladium

0,69 g/t Pd

1,29 g/t Pd

2,87 g/t Pd

Cuivre

0,04 % Cu

0,44 % Cu

0,34 % Cu

Nickel

0,02 % Ni

0,24 % Ni

0,32 % Ni

Type

Stratiforme

Dans un cisaillement

Brèche d'intrusion


Les travaux récents de cartographie du Ministère et les activités d’exploration de l’industrie ont montré que ces indices correspondent à trois types de minéralisation qui incluent les deux types dits classiques. L’indice Ebay correspond au type stratiforme formé par un magma enrichi en platinoïdes. Certains niveaux, dont l’extension de cet indice, méritent d’être prospectés dans l’espoir d’y trouver d’autres zones enrichies. L’indice BWest est associé à un cisaillement.

Ce genre de structures est fréquemment enrichi en platinoïdes comme le Shear Ore du gisement du Lac des Iles. L’indice Dotcom est associé au type brèche d’intrusion. La géochimie de cette roche nous indique qu’il s’agit d’une intrusion distincte du complexe qui peut également se trouver à l’extérieur de celui-ci.


Figure 1. Localisation des platinoïdes dans le Complexe de la Rivière Bell près de Matagami, et distribution des autres indices minéralisés associés à cette intrusion magmatique

Les platinoïdes dans le monde

Les platinoïdes sont des métaux rares qui regroupent le platine, le palladium, le rhodium, le ruthénium, l’iridium et l’osmium. Ces métaux sont très résistants à la corrosion et leur point de fusion est très élevé. La confection de catalyseurs d’automobiles est l’une des principales utilisations de platinoïdes. Les platinoïdes sont par ailleurs recherchés pour des applications électriques, la fabrication de creusets de laboratoire, des pièces numismatiques, la dentisterie et la bijouterie. Présentement, le palladium, le platine et le rhodium valent respectivement moins de la moitié, le double et le triple de la valeur de l’or.

Les républiques d’Afrique du Sud et de Russie sont les principaux producteurs de platinoïdes. Le Canada et les États-Unis sont des producteurs moins importants. Les platinoïdes se trouvent dans des gisements primaires ou comme sous-produits de gisements de cuivre et de nickel tels que ceux de Raglan dans le nord du Québec ou de Sudbury en Ontario. Les gisements primaires de platinoïdes se divisent en deux catégories : stratiforme ou brèche d’intrusion. Les gisements stratiformes sont associés à de grandes intrusions magmatiques et forment les gisements de platinoïdes les plus importants du monde, dont ceux que l’on retrouve dans l’intrusion du Bushveld en Afrique du Sud. Les gisements associés à des brèches d’intrusion sont associés à des intrusions beaucoup plus petites. Au nord de Thunder Bay en Ontario, le gisement du Lac des Iles, de type brèche d’intrusion, est la seule mine primaire de platinoïdes en Amérique du Nord.