MERN- Quebec's Borders

Québec's Borders

Use of Public Land

Géoboutique Québec

Leasing Public Land


Québec's Borders


Québec shares more than 12,000 km of land, river, and maritime borders with Ontario, the Federal State, Nunavut, Newfoundland and Labrador, Prince Edward Island, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, and United States.

  • Land limits: about 50% of Québec's total perimeter;
  • River limits: 12%;
  • Maritime limits: 38%.

Québec's borders are of capital importance because they define its limits, thereby determining the territorial scope for applying its authority. The bases for Québec territorial integrity, especially protecting its borders, are provided for in many constitutional texts.

Implementing a border involves two components:

  • Delimitation. This consists in defining the path of the border based on legal texts, which, in Québec, take the form of British, Canadian, and Québec legislation. Most of these laws were enacted during the 19th century.
  • Demarcation. This can be defined as the physical marking of boundaries generally through the use of markers or other visible means.