February 2009    Print this article

An Update on Uranium Exploration in Québec

By Pierre Lacoste and Patrice Roy
Bureau de l’exploration géologique du Québec
Direction générale de Géologie Québec

After over twenty-odd years of relative inactivity, uranium exploration in Québec exploded in 2007 following a spectacular increase in the price of uranium. Interest in uranium exploration held steady throughout 2008, despite falling prices on the world market. The metal’s popularity is directly related to its price on the spot market, which peaked at over US$130 per pound in June 2007. Since this historic summit, the price of uranium has dropped, as with most metals. The spot market for uranium makes up around 15% of the market, with the remaining 85% of transactions taking the form of long term contracts, generally for more than the spot price (Sidex, 2004).

Click on photo to enlarge

The price of uranium on the spot market, 1995–2008

The price of uranium on the spot market, 1995–2008
(Source: Ux Weekly)

As things stand, the uranium produced by active mines is not enough to meet world demand. Other sources of uranium are therefore required. Even taking other sources of uranium into account—such as nuclear disarmament—uranium production will have to increase by more than 20,000 tons per year to meet demand for the next ten years.

Click on photo to enlarge

Uranium production and reactor consumption in the West

Uranium production and reactor consumption in the West
(Source: World Nuclear Association)

In Canada, uranium production is largely concentrated in the province of Saskatchewan, the world’s No. 1 uranium producer. Québec is still at the exploration stage and has no uranium mines in service. The various stages of exploration work are long, laborious, and expensive. Uranium exploration costs amounted to only a few thousand dollars in 2000 and have since shot up from $1.3 million in 2004 to $70.9 million in 2007.

Cost of Uranium Exploration
and Development in Québec

Year

2004

2005

2006

2007

Costs (M$)

1.3

4.3

22.0

70.9

Source : Raymond Beullac, Institut de la statistique du Québec

These costs were spread across a number of projects mainly in the sedimentary basin of the Monts Otish (northeast of Chibougamau), in the Baie-James region, eastern Nunavik (in the Core Zone), in the metasedimentary rocks of the Torngat Orogen, and in the Grenville series, particularly in the Côte-Nord region (Baie-Johan-Beetz– Aguanish). Work in the Témiscamingue (Kipawa sector), Outaouais (Gatineau sector), and Laurentides regions (Mont-Laurier) was either minor or nonexistent.

Click on map to enlarge

Growth Sectors

Currently, the most sought-after and promising sectors for uranium exploration are the Monts Otish basin, the Baie-James region, and the area south of Ungava Bay and the Torngats. The geological background of each of these sectors was outlined in the February 2007 edition of Québec mines. The latest results are summarized in the paragraphs below.

Otish Mountains

In the Otish Mountains, over 20 projects or targets are being worked on by various exploration companies, notably major companies Cameco and Areva-Québec and junior companies such as Strateco Resources Inc., Dios Exploration Inc., and Majescor. The uranium potential of the Otish Mountains sector has been known for several years, and a number of indicators are typical of unconformity-related uranium deposits, as in Saskatchewan. Nonetheless, the project that has made most headway in Québec—Strateco Resources’s Matoush Project—involves type-U uranium deposits in veins associated with shear zones. The deposit contains indicated resources of 250,000 tons at 0.68% U3O8 and inferred resources of 1.3 Mt at 0.44% U3O8. The company has completed an opportunity study and plans to carry out an underground exploration program within the next year.

The Core Zone of the Nouveau-Québec and Torngat Orogens

This zone is uncharted territory for uranium exploration. It was thrust into the spotlight following the discovery of zones of anomalous uranium values in lake-bottom sediment sampled by the Ministry in 1997. The Core Zone (formerly known as Churchill or Rae Province) forms the basement of eastern Nunavik. It is largely composed of Archean to Mesoproterozoic tonalitic gneiss, granitoids, and mafic intrusions. Veins and dikes of granitic pegmatite cut across the Archean basement of the Core Zone and the rocks of the Nouveau-Québec and Torngat orogens. The vast territory covered by the eastern portion of Nunavik, east of the Labrador Trough, is fertile ground for various types of uranium mineralization.

Mineralization associated with Rössing-type pegmatites appears to be the most promising. Azimut Exploration Inc. has identified a number of anomalous kilometer-scale zones. Analysis of rock samples has returned uranium values of more than 1,000 ppm (0.1% U3O8), and the best grades were 0.59%, 0.57%, 0.46%, 0.3%, and 0.65% U3O8, with grab samples registering up to 3.3% U3O8. Further south, on the Rivière Georges property, which is made up of claim blocks scattered between Rivière Georges and the Québec–Labrador border, Freewest Resources Canada has uncovered four uranium showings. This uranium mineralization falls within the granitic pegmatite dikes that crisscross the gneissic basement of the Core Zone. The mineralized zone is close to 2.6 km long and 700 m wide. The best values obtained were 0.453% and 0.132% U3O8 in grab samples from the Stewart Lake Trend property. Areva-Québec’s CAGE project uncovered grading of up to 8.13% U3O8 in a grab sample, and channel sampling registered 0.45% over 1 meter. Other targets were also sampled.

Click on map to enlarge

Other Sectors Highlighted by Lake-Bottom Anomalies

A number of other hotspots were also identified in the Baie-James region, particularly in the Apple sector, in environments conducive to the discovery of unconformity-related uranium deposits or uranium-bearing veins. For instance, the pyrite uranium conglomerates in the Apple showing are being worked on by Virginia Mines and Strateco Resources. Further east, Midland Exploration and Quest Uranium have found high grading in grab samples. Uranium mineralization is also often associated with granitic pegmatites cutting through the gneiss or in granitic mobilisate.

In central and northern Québec (Bienville and Lac Minto), Azimut Exploration Inc. is carrying out various types of geophysical and geochemical work and prospecting various anomalies and targets. The results indicate grades of up to 0.32% U3O8 for samples and grading as high as 0.90% U3O8. A number of targets were also identified using lake-bottom geochemistry. These sectors offer fresh potential and land in the search for uranium.

Côte-Nord

The uranium potential of the Côte-Nord region has been known since the late 1970s. Most work dates back a number of years, but exploration activity has increased in this sector, particularly since the price of uranium has risen. Work is mainly concentrated in the Baie Johan-Beetz–Aguanish area, where there are a number of deposits with historic resources (not in compliance with Standard 43-101). Work was recently performed in the sector by Azimut Exploration Inc., Kennecott, and D’Arianne Resources, among others. Grading of up to 0.43% U3O8 and significant quantities of rare earth were noted in a pegmatite. Double S, a Uracan-owned deposit in the Baie-Johan-Beetz sector, has 74 Mt of resources at 0.012% U3O8. Moreover, other showings have come to light further north, thanks to lake-bottom sediment and airborne radiometric anomalies. Grab samples notably reported grades of up to 0.33% U3O8. And in the Sept-Îles Nord sector, the most talked-about deposit is held by Terra Ventures at Lac Kachiwiss. This deposit contains 18.3 Mt of historic resources (not in compliance with Standard 43-101) at 0.015% U3O8. The company recently drilled to check historic resources and carried out airborne geophysical work to gauge the potential of neighboring areas.

Most known deposits in the Côte-Nord region are associated with granitic pegmatites. They are heavy, low grade mineralizations related to the type found in the Rössing Mine in Namibia, which with a 300 Mt deposit at 0.03% U3O8, is the world’s fourth biggest uranium mine. In the Côte-Nord region, there are also iron oxide-type deposits with uranium, copper, and gold associations, as with the Kwijibo showing. Once again, this type of deposit has the potential to produce huge deposits with low grades. For example, the Olympic Dam deposit in Australia is estimated to contain 2,000 Mt, including 1.4 Mt of U3O8 at a grade of 0.06%, making it the world’s largest uranium deposit.

Ministère des Ressources naturelles et de la Faune uses a cut-off point of at least 425 ppm U (500 ppm or 0.05% U3O8 [uranium oxide]) to identify uranium showings. In order to support uranium exploration, Direction générale de Géologie Québec has published a special edition map, last updated in 2009, entitled "Uranium in the Secondary Environment and Uranium Mineralizations." The map highlights the geochemistry of lake-bottom and stream sediments as well as known mineralizations contained in the SIGÉOM database. Further geochemical and radiometric surveys have been conducted in Québec.

Send this page
Previous issues | Questions and comments


© Gouvernement du Québec, 2009

Février 2009    Imprimer cet article

L'exploration de l'uranium au Québec - une mise à jour

Par Pierre Lacoste et Patrice Roy
Bureau de l’exploration géologique du Québec
Direction générale de Géologie Québec

Après plus d’une vingtaine d’années de relative inactivité, l’exploration pour l’uranium au Québec a explosé en 2007 à la suite de la montée fulgurante du prix de l’uranium. Cet intérêt pour l’exploration de l’uranium s’est maintenu durant l’année 2008, malgré une baisse de son prix sur le marché mondial. L’engouement pour ce métal est lié directement à son prix sur le marché au comptant (spot market) qui a atteint un sommet à plus de 130 $US la livre en juin 2007. Depuis ce pic historique, le prix de l’uranium a subi une diminution importante, comme la plupart des métaux. Les prix « spot » (spot market) de l’uranium représentent environ 15 % du marché alors que 85 % des transactions sont conclues sous la forme de contrats à long terme, généralement à un prix supérieur au prix « spot » (Sidex, 2004).

Cliquez sur l'image pour un agrandissement

Évolution du prix de l’uranium sur le marché au comptant, de 1995 à 2008

Évolution du prix de l’uranium sur le marché au comptant, de 1995 à 2008
(source: Ux Weekly).

Actuellement, la production d’uranium provenant des exploitations minières en activité est insuffisante pour combler la demande mondiale. L’accès à d’autres ressources en uranium est donc nécessaire pour combler les besoins. Même en considérant les sources autres que l’uranium, comme le désarmement nucléaire, la production d’uranium devra augmenter de plus de 20 000 tonnes par an pour assurer l’approvisionnement pendant les dix prochaines années.

Cliquez sur l'image pour un agrandissement

Production d’uranium et consommation des réacteurs dans le monde occidental

Production d’uranium et consommation des réacteurs dans le monde occidental
(source : World Nuclear Association).

Au Canada, la production d’uranium est concentrée essentiellement dans la province de la Saskatchewan, premier producteur d’uranium au monde. Au Québec, aucune mine d’uranium n’est en production; nous en sommes toujours au stade de l’exploration. Les différentes étapes des travaux en exploration sont longues, laborieuses et très coûteuses. Les dépenses en exploration pour l’uranium qui n’étaient que de quelques dizaines de milliers de dollars en 2000 sont passées de 1,3 M$ en 2004 à 70,9 M$ en 2007.

Dépenses en travaux d'exploration et de mise en valeur en M$ pour l'uranium au Québec

Année

2004

2005

2006

2007

Dépenses (M $)

1,3

4,3

22,0

70,9

Source : Raymond Beullac de l'Institut de la statistique du Québec.

Ces dépenses ont été réparties sur plusieurs projets situés principalement dans le bassin sédimentaire des monts Otish (au nord-est de Chibougamau), dans la région de la Baie-James, dans la partie est du Nunavik (dans la Zone Noyau), dans les roches métasédimentaires de l’Orogène des Torngats et dans le Grenville, notamment sur la Côte-Nord (Baie-Johan-Beetz – Aguanish). Les travaux dans la région du Témiscamingue (secteur Kipawa), dans l’Outaouais (secteur Gatineau) et dans les Laurentides (Mont-Laurier) ont été mineurs ou absents.

Cliquez sur la carte pour un agrandissement

Les secteurs chauds pour l'exploration de l'uranium

Les secteurs en effervescence

Actuellement, les secteurs les plus recherchés et prometteurs pour l’exploration de l’uranium sont les régions du bassin des monts Otish, la Baie-James et la zone sud de la baie d’Ungava et des Torngats. Les contextes géologiques associés à ces secteurs ont été décrits dans le numéro du bulletin Québec mines de février 2007. Un sommaire des derniers résultats est présenté dans les paragraphes qui suivent.

Monts Otish

Dans les monts Otish, plus d’une vingtaine de projets ou cibles font l’objet de travaux par plusieurs compagnies d’exploration, notamment les majeures Cameco et Areva-Québec ainsi que les compagnies juniors Ressources Strateco inc., Exploration Dios inc. et Majescor. Le secteur des monts Otish est reconnu depuis plusieurs années pour son potentiel uranifère et plusieurs indices sont typiques des gîtes d’uranium associés à des discordances, soit le même type que l’on trouve en Saskatchewan. Toutefois, le projet le plus avancé au Québec, le projet Matoush de Ressources Strateco, est un gisement de type filons uranifères associé à des zones de cisaillement. Il renferme des ressources indiquées de 250 000 tonnes à 0,68 % U3O8 et des ressources inférées de 1,3 Mt à 0,44 % U3O8. La compagnie a terminé une étude d’opportunité et prévoit effectuer des travaux d’exploration souterraine dans la prochaine année.

Zone Noyau des orogènes du Nouveau-Québec et des Torngats

Cette zone représente un nouveau territoire pour l’exploration de l’uranium. Elle a été mise en évidence à la suite de la découverte de zones anomales en uranium dans les sédiments de fonds de lacs prélevés par le Ministère en 1997. La Zone Noyau (anciennement connue sous les vocables de Province de Churchill ou de Rae) forme le socle rocheux de la partie orientale du Nunavik. Elle est composée en grande partie de gneiss tonalitiques, de granitoïdes et d’intrusions mafiques d’âge Archéen à Mésoprotérozoïque. Des veines et des dykes de composition pegmatite granitique recoupent le socle archéen de la Zone Noyau et les roches des orogènes du Nouveau-Québec et des Torngats. Ainsi, le vaste territoire de la partie orientale du Nunavik, à l’est des roches de la Fosse du Labrador, représente un terrain fertile pour divers types de minéralisations uranifères.

Cependant, les minéralisations associées à des pegmatites (type Rössing) semblent les plus prometteuses. Plusieurs zones anomales d’extension kilométrique ont été signalées par la compagnie Exploration Azimut inc. Des analyses de roches ont retourné des valeurs uranifères supérieures à 1 000 ppm (0,1 % U3O8) et les meilleures teneurs sont de l’ordre de 0,59 %, 0,57 %, 0,46 %, 0,3 % et 0,65 % U3O8, atteignant jusqu’à 3,3 % U3O8 sur des échantillons choisis. Plus au sud, sur la propriété Rivière Georges, composée de blocs de claims dispersés entre la rivière Georges et la frontière Québec–Labrador, Ressources Freewest Canada a mis au jour quatre indices uranifères. Ces minéralisations uranifères sont localisées à l’intérieur de dykes de pegmatite granitique qui recoupent le socle gneissique de la Zone Noyau. La zone minéralisée s’étire sur près de 2,6 km et sur une largeur de 700 mètres. Les meilleures valeurs obtenues sont de 0,453 % et 0,132 % U3O8, sur des échantillons choisis provenant de la propriété Stewart Lake Trend. Les travaux de Areva-Québec, sur son projet Cage, ont permis de mettre au jour des teneurs atteignant 8,13 % U3O8 sur un échantillon choisi, l’échantillonnage d’une rainure a rapporté 0,45 % sur 1 mètre et d’autres cibles ont aussi été échantillonnées.

Cliquez sur la carte pour un agrandissement

Distribution des indices d'uranium en 2008

Autres secteurs mis en évidence par les anomalies de fonds de lacs

À la Baie-James, notamment dans le secteur Apple, plusieurs autres points chauds ont été signalés dans des environnements propices à la découverte de gîtes d’uranium de type discordance ou filons uranifères. Par exemple, l’indice Apple, dans des conglomérats uranifères pyriteux, a fait l'objet de travaux par Mines Virginia et Ressources Strateco. Plus à l’est, Midland Exploration et Quest Uranium ont obtenu des teneurs élevées sur des échantillons choisis. La minéralisation uranifère est aussi souvent associée avec des pegmatites granitiques recoupant les gneiss ou dans des mobilisats granitiques.

Dans la portion centre-nord du Québec (Bienville et Lac Minto) , la compagnie Exploration Azimut inc. effectue différents types de travaux de géophysique, de géochimie et de prospection sur plusieurs anomalies ou cibles. Les résultats obtenus indiquent des teneurs jusqu’à 0,32 % U3O8 sur des échantillons et des teneurs atteignant 0,90 % U3O8. Plusieurs cibles ont aussi été définies par géochimie de fonds de lacs. Ces secteurs offrent ainsi de nouveaux potentiel et territoires pour la recherche d’uranium.

Côte-Nord

Le potentiel en uranium de la Côte-Nord est connu depuis la fin des années 1970. La plupart des travaux datent de plusieurs années, mais on note un regain de l’exploration dans ce secteur, notamment à la suite de l’augmentation du prix de l’uranium. Les travaux se concentrent surtout dans la région de Baie Johan-Beetz-Aguanish où quelques gîtes avec des ressources historiques (non-conformes à la norme 43-101) sont connus. Récemment, le secteur a fait l’objet de travaux, entre autres par Exploration Azimut inc., Kennecott et Ressources d’Arianne. Des teneurs jusqu’à 0,43 % U3O8 et des quantités appréciables de terres-rares ont été signalées dans une pegmatite. Un gîte détenu par Uracan dans le secteur de Baie-Johan-Beetz, Double S, renferme des ressources de 74 Mt à 0,012 % U3O8. De plus, d’autres indices ont été mis au jour, plus au nord, grâce aux anomalies de sédiments de fonds de lacs et aux anomalies radiométriques aéroportées. Des échantillons choisis ont notamment rapportés des teneurs atteignant 0,33 % U3O8. Enfin, dans le secteur de Sept-Îles Nord, le principal dépôt faisant la manchette est celui du lac Kachiwiss, détenu par Terra Ventures. Ce dépôt contient des ressources historiques (non-conformes à la norme 43-101) de 18,3 Mt à 0,015 % U3O8. Récemment, la compagnie a effectué des forages pour vérifier les ressources historiques et des travaux de géophysique aéroportée afin d’évaluer le potentiel des régions avoisinantes.

La majorité des dépôts connus sur la Côte-Nord sont associés à des pegmatites granitiques. Il s’agit de minéralisations à faible teneur et fort tonnage s’apparentant à celles de la mine Rossïng en Namibie, un gisement de l’ordre de 300 Mt à 0,03 % U3O8, soit la quatrième exploitation d’uranium en importance dans le monde. Sur la Côte-Nord, l’uranium se trouve aussi associé aux dépôts de type cuivre-or-oxydes de fer comme dans le cas de l’indice Kwijibo. Encore une fois, ce type de dépôt a le potentiel de produire d’immenses dépôts avec de faibles teneurs. À titre d’exemple, le gisement Olympic Dam en Australie est évalué à 2 000 Mt dont 1,4 Mt de U3O8 à une teneur de 0,06 %, ce qui en fait le plus gros dépôt d’uranium au monde.

À titre d’information, au ministère des Ressources naturelles et de la Faune, le seuil inférieur pour identifier un indice d’uranium est de 425 ppm U, soit de 500 ppm ou 0,05 % U3O8 (uranium sous forme d’oxyde). Afin de soutenir l’exploration pour l’uranium, la Direction générale de Géologie Québec a publié une carte hors série, mise à jour en 2009, intitulée « Uranium dans l’environnement secondaire et minéralisations d’uranium ». Cette carte met en valeur la géochimie de sédiments de fonds de lacs et de ruisseaux et les minéralisations connues provenant de la base de données SIGÉOM. D’autres levés géochimiques ont été effectués au Québec ainsi que des levés radiométriques.

Envoyer cet article
Numéros précédents | Questions et commentaires


© Gouvernement du Québec, 2009